| GENERAL LICENSE ISSUES |
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| Q. |
When do I need an Illinois real estate license? |
| A. |
A person needs a real estate license if they provide assistance which is in any way intended to result in the sale or lease of real estate. The definition of the word "broker" under the Act provides 11 examples of the types of "assistance" that require a real estate license. Included are: representing clients in the negotiation of real estate sales contracts or leases, and issuing advertisements for the sale, purchase or lease of real estate.
The assistance must be provided for others. Accordingly, a person who buys, sells or leases real estate as a "principal" does not need a real estate license.
Compensation is required. Therefore, a person who provides assistance on a real estate transaction to a friend or relative, without compensation, does not need a license.
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| Q. |
Are there any exemptions from the license requirement? |
| A. |
Yes. Exemptions from the license requirement are set forth in Section 5-20 of the Act. In other words, some individuals and entities who engage in the “practice of real estate” in Illinois do not need to obtain a real estate license from DPR.
Included in the exemptions are owners of real estate and the employees of the owners of real estate. See Section 5-20(1) of the Act. Accordingly, owners of real estate and their employees may advertise the sale or lease of their property and negotiate real estate contracts and leases without a license. Note that for this exemption to apply, (i) the “practice of real estate” must be limited to those properties “owned,” (ii) the employment relationship must be per a “W-2" wage basis, not per an independent contract basis, and (iii) the employer must hold title to the real estate, not just have a financial interest in the real estate (there must be a direct connection between the unlicensed employee and the holder of title).
Also included in the exemptions are (i) attorneys acting under an executed and recorded power of attorney and (ii) attorneys whose services for a real estate consumer are limited to the practice of law. See Section 5-20(2) of the Act. Note that attorneys who engage in the practice of real estate must obtain a real estate license (attorneys are exempt from the pre-license education but attorneys still must pass the exam and obtain a real estate license to practice real estate).
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| Q. |
What kind of real estate licenses are available for individuals? |
| A. |
DPR issues three kind of real estate licenses for individuals: leasing agent licenses, salesperson licenses, and broker licenses.
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| Q. |
What kind of real estate licenses are available for business entities? |
| A. |
DPR issues three kind of "business entity" licenses: real estate broker corporation licenses, partnership licenses, and limited liability company licenses. Note that the business must be properly registered with the Illinois Secretary of State office before an application for a license is filed with DPR. The procedures for filing an application for a business entity licenses are found in Section 5-15 of the Act and Rule 1450.85. The procedures for renewing a business entity licenses are found in Rule 1450.105(c).Ownership: Individuals with a real estate license may own a brokerage business. In this regard, licensed brokers may own an unlimited amount of a brokerage business. However, a salesperson or group of salespersons may own only up to 49% of a brokerage business. Also, unlicensed individuals or unlicensed entities may own an unlimited amount of a brokerage business, as long as all unlicensed owners file Affidavits of Non Participation.
Management: Any officer of a broker corporation, manager of a limited liability company, and general partner of a partnership, who are involved in any way in the brokerage activities of the business, must have a broker license.
Note - A broker may also operate a real estate business as a sole proprietor. A sole proprietor business does NOT require a sole proprietor license from DPR. However, a sole proprietor broker must maintain an “office”and must comply with all other applicable provisions of the Act and Rules. Please see the question below in the General Practice Issues section regarding operating a real estate office.
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| Q. |
What do I need to do to obtain an Illinois real estate license? |
| A. |
An individual who wants to obtain an Illinois real estate license must complete the required pre-license education (subject to the few exemptions below), pass a test, and file an application with the required fee.
Pre-license Education Requirements:
Leasing agent license = 15 hours of instruction in an approved course of study relating to the leasing of residential property.
Salesperson license = 45 hours of instruction in approved courses, and a minimum of 15 of these hours must be in the areas of Article 15 of the Act (agency), disclosure and environmental issues, or any other current topic as determined by the Education Advisory Council.
Broker license for a person who does not already have a salesperson license = 120 hours of instruction in approved courses, 45 of which shall be those hours required to obtain a salesperson license, plus at least 45 hours of mandatory courses as outlined in Section 1450.60 of the Rules.
Broker license for a person who does already have a salesperson license = 75 hours of instruction in approved courses (not including the 45 hours required to obtain the salesperson license).
The persons who are exempt from pre-license education are persons who are Illinois licensed attorneys and persons who qualify based upon Reciprocity with another State - check the DPR webpage for a list of reciprocal States. Information regarding Pre-license Education Schools and Testing locations may be found on the DPR web site. Application forms are also available on the DPR web site. The application must include the certification of a passing score on the exam, a properly issued sponsor card, and a check for the license. The current fees for each license are available on the DPR web site.
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| Q. |
Do Illinois real estate licensees have continuing education (CE) requirements? |
| A. |
Yes. Salespersons must complete 12 hours of CE every 2 years. Brokers must complete 18 hours of CE every 2 years (6 hours core/6 hours elective/6 hours of the Broker Management Course).
Exemptions include: an individual who served in the armed services of the United States during the renewal period and a real estate licensee who is also an Illinois licensed attorney. See Section 5-70(b) of the Act.
If you received your initial license less than one year before the first renewal date for the license, please check Section 5-70(c) of the Act to determine if you are exempt from completing the continuing education for the first renewal period.
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| Q. |
How do I renew my license? |
| A. |
It is the responsibility of each licensee to properly renew their license. The licensee must accurately fill-out a renewal application and send the renewal application, together with the fee, to the Licensing Department in Springfield before the renewal date. If a renewal form is not received in the mail, it remains the responsibility of the licensee to file the renewal application. The licensee will also have the option to renew via Internet or telephone using a credit card.
Renewal Dates:
Salespersons must renew their license by April 30 of every odd numbered year (ex. April 30, 2007, April 30, 2009, etc).
Brokers must renew their license by April 30 of every even numbered year (ex. April 30, 2008, April 30, 2010, etc.)
Note - A person whose license has been expired for more than 2 years shall be required to meet the requirements for a new license, including completing all pre-license education and passing the exam. See Section 5-55(a) of the Act.
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| Q. |
Does Illinois offer license Reciprocity with any other states? |
| A. |
Yes. The current list of states having Reciprocity with Illinois appears on the DPR web site. Note that even those out-of-state licensees who qualify for reciprocity still must pass a test on Illinois specific real estate brokerage laws and obtain an Illinois license before practicing in Illinois. See Section 5-60 of the Act.
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| Q. |
What are the procedures regarding termination of sponsorship? |
| A. |
In order to terminate sponsorship, the sponsoring broker should:
Sign the license of the sponsored licensee, indicate "terminated," and mark the date of the termination.
Submit a copy of the endorsed license to DPR within 2 business days after termination by signature restricted mail delivery.
Retain a copy of the endorsed license at least until the next renewal date; and
Give the original endorsed license to the licensee.
In most cases, the managing broker of the office will be responsible for the endorsement required of the sponsoring broker. However, in the event the managing broker is unavailable, any broker authorized to sign on behalf of the sponsoring broker may provide the endorsement. Either the sponsoring broker or the sponsored licensee may demand the endorsement of the licensee. Failure of the sponsoring broker to endorse the license upon demand may subject the sponsoring broker (or managing broker) to discipline. The reason for this is DPR has complete jurisdiction over each license. However, the endorsement should not preclude either the sponsoring broker or sponsored licensee from pursuing any right or obligation pursuant the terms of the written employment agreement, or pursuant to any other civil remedy. See Section 5-40(b) of the Act and Rule 1450.75
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| GENERAL PRACTICE ISSUES |
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| Q. |
What are the requirements for operating a real estate “office”? |
| A. |
The scope of this question is very broad. All brokers operating their own real estate brokerage business should carefully review the Act and Rules. By way of overview, consider the following:
In the case of corporations, partnerships, and LLCs, the main office and each branch office must be licensed. The main office for a sole proprietor does not need a main office license (the individual broker license of the sole proprietor constitutes the main office license) but each branch office of a sole proprietorship must have a branch office license.
Every real estate office must have a managing broker of record. The managing broker does not need to be the owner of the business. The same individual who serves as the managing broker of a main office may serve as the managing broker of each branch office, or a different individual may serve as the managing broker of some or all of the branch offices. The managing broker of each office is responsible for the supervision of all of the real estate activities performed by the office. See Rule 1450.130
The license of every sponsored licensee must be displayed in the office. The “display” of a license may be satisfied by hanging the license on a wall in the office that is open to the public, or by including the license in an album or binder which is kept on a desk or shelf in the office that is accessible to the public. In the case of a business with a main and a branch office(s), a license should be posted in the office out of which the licensee “predominately” works. See Rule 1450.155.
Each office must have a “sign.” The sign must be outside the office and must be of a size and nature that will be reasonably readable by the public (a listing on a building directory fulfills this requirement). The sign must include the name of the sponsoring broker. The sign must be professional in appearance and meet all applicable zoning restrictions and restrictive covenants - in other words, if you live in a subdivision that does not allow commercial signs, you CANNOT maintain your office out of your home. Each branch office must also have a sign that meets with these same requirements. The sign for the branch office should include the same name as the main office or clearly delineate the branch office's relationship with the main office (e.g. “Affiliated with”). See Rule 1450.150.
Consumers and clients must be welcome in the office.
The managing broker must maintain all of the required records at the office. Please see Rule 1450.180 for record keeping requirements. The required records include a written employment agreement with each sponsored licensee. See Rule 1450.160. If escrow monies are maintained, the managing broker must ensure that the proper Consent to Audit forms are filed with the Licensing Department in Springfield and must ensure compliance with every provision of the Escrow Rule 1450.175.
Other businesses may be operated out of the same office location. However, the real estate business must be physically separated from the other businesses. The intention here is to ensure that real estate consumers know where they can meet with their real estate broker and know where their real estate records will be maintained. The real estate business may use a shared reception area and may use other common areas at a multi-business location.
If an assumed business is used, please see the question below addressing the Assumed Business Name Act.
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| Q. |
What are the requirements regarding compensation of licensees? |
| A. |
All compensation earned by a licensee must be paid through the sponsoring broker.
Note - as a general rule, a commission is earned at the time the real estate contract or lease is executed. Therefore, even if the licensee's license is not active at the time of closing, the licensee can still receive the commission. The commission should be paid through the sponsoring broker of record at the time the commission was earned. Or, if a licensee has changed sponsoring brokers by the time of the closing, the commission can be paid either through the sponsoring broker of record at the time the commission was earned or through the new sponsoring broker.
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| Q. |
What is a Corporation for Indirect Payment of Compensation? |
| A. |
A Corporation for Indirect Payment of Compensation was authorized in the Real Estate License Act of 2000 to allow licensees to gain certain tax advantages regarding their compensation earned as a licensee. All licensees (leasing agents, salespersons, brokers) qualify. If properly set up, a sponsoring broker may pay compensation earned by a licensee directly to the corporation rather than to the licensee individually. Note the following:
It is a corporation, and therefore the licensee must register the corporation with the Illinois Secretary of State. Questions on how to register the corporation should be placed to the Illinois Secretary of State, not DPR.
The licensee must be the SOLE shareholder of the corporation. Accordingly, licensees who are related (ex. husband/wife) or who work together as a team may NOT use the same corporation for receipt of each licensees' compensation.
After the corporation is registered with the Illinois Secretary of State, the licensee must file a copy of the certificate of incorporation with the Licensing Department in Springfield.
The corporation does NOT require a real estate broker corporation license issued by DPR.
The licensee may NOT use the corporation to perform real estate activities, associate other licensees with the corporation, or advertise to the public under the corporation's name.
The licensee may use the corporation for receiving compensation earned by the licensee arising out of activities unrelated to the practice of real estate.
See Section 10-20(e) of the Act and Rule 170.
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| Q. |
Must the managing broker ensure that every brokerage agreement is in writing? |
| A. |
No. Only exclusive brokerage agreements are required to be in writing. See Rule 1450.195(b) and (c) for a list of the provisions that are required to be included in a written exclusive brokerage agreement. It is certainly recommended that even non-exclusive brokerage agreements be in writing.
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| Q. |
What should a licensee know about filling-out real estate contracts or leases and about modifications to real estate contracts or leases? |
| A. |
Rule 1450.200(a) requires that a licensee make sure that a real estate contract or lease does NOT contain any blanks to be filled in after signing or initialing. For example, it is important for a licensee to make sure that a real estate contract include a date of acceptance, which is normally established by including the date next to the seller's signature.
Rule 1450.200(b) requires that a licensee obtain the written consent of all principals to a real estate contract or lease before making any modification to the contract or lease. In addition, if a modification is made to a contract or lease, a licensee must make sure that each principal initial the modification. It is also strongly recommended that a licensee make sure that the principals' initials are dated.
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| Q. |
May compensation be paid to a principal to a transaction, even if the principal does not have a real estate license? |
| A. |
Yes. Section 10-15(c) of the Act authorizes the offer or payment of compensation (“prizes, merchandise, services, rebates, discounts or other consideration”) to an unlicensed person who is a party to a contract or lease. Of course, such compensation is not required. The payment of such compensation should be pursuant to the negotiations on the transactions. The payment of such compensation is not limited to payment by a licensee to the licensee's client - in other words, a seller's agent may pay compensation to an unlicensed buyer.
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| Q. |
May a licensee offer compensation to solicit clients? |
| A. |
Yes. Section 10-15(d) of the Act authorizes the offer or payment of compensation (“cash, gifts, prizes, awards, coupons, merchandise, rebates or chances to win a game of chance”) to a consumer as an inducement to that consumer to use the services of a licensee, even if the consumer and licensee ultimately do not enter into a client relationship. Any advertisement under this Section must also comply with all requirements regarding real estate advertisements. Also, care should be taken not to offer compensation to unlicensed persons for referrals of clients - this is prohibited.
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| Q. |
What must a licensee disclose to a client regarding compensation and ownership of related entities? |
| A. |
A licensee must disclose to a client the sponsoring broker's policy with regard to paying compensation to cooperating brokers who represent other parties in a transaction.
A licensee must disclose to a client all sources of compensation related to the transaction received by the licensee from a third party.
If a licensee refers a client to a third party in which the licensee has greater than a 1% ownership interest, the licensee must disclose the ownership interest to the client at the time the referral is made.
A licensee must disclose in writing to a client in any transaction in which the licensee is being paid by both the buyer and seller or lessee and lessor.
See Section 10-10 of the Act.
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| Q. |
What are the requirements regarding Licensed Personal Assistants? |
| A. |
Licensed Personal Assistants must be sponsored by the same broker that sponsors the licensee being assisted. The license of the Licensed Personal Assistant must be displayed in the office of the sponsoring broker.
The sponsoring broker must have a written employment agreement with the Licensed Personal Assistant. The written employment agreement must set forth the employment or independent contractor terms, supervision, duties, compensation and termination terms. See Section 10-20(d) of the Act.
All compensation earned by the Licensed Personal Assistant must be paid through the sponsoring broker. See Section 10-5(c) of the Act.
A Licensed Personal Assistant MAY serve as an assistant to a licensee sponsored by a broker AND actively practice real estate for the same sponsoring broker.
A Licensed Personal Assistant may NOT assist a licensee sponsored by one broker and also practice real estate for another sponsoring broker. This prohibition applies even if the “assistant” duties are only administrative or clerical.
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| Q. |
What are the requirements regarding Unlicensed Personal Assistants? |
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An Unlicensed Assistant may not engage in licensed activities. An excellent list of examples of what an Unlicensed Assistant may and may not do appears in Rule 1450.165 paragraphs (b) and (c).
An Unlicensed Assistant may be employed directly by the licensee being assisted. The licensee being assisted is responsible for the actions of the Unlicensed Assistant.
Compensation for an Unlicensed Assistant does NOT need to pass through the sponsoring broker of the licensee being assisted.
See Rule 1450.165
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| Q. |
What are the requirements regarding referral fees or finder fees? |
| A. |
It is illegal for an Illinois real estate licensee to pay a fee for the referral of a real estate client to any individual or business entity that does not have a real estate license. For example, an Illinois real estate licensee cannot pay a referral fee to an unlicensed friend or neighbor. Nor can an Illinois real estate licensee pay a referral fee to an unlicensed professional otherwise involved in real estate transactions, e.g., to an unlicensed employee of a mortgage company.
It is legal for an Illinois licensee to pay or receive a referral fee to/from another Illinois real estate licensee. It is also legal for an Illinois real estate licensee to pay or receive a referral fee to/from a person who has a real estate license in another state. See Rule 1450.205(a).
Referral fees must be paid through a sponsoring broker.
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| Q. |
How long must a real estate office save real estate records? |
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Five years. Please see Rule 1450.180 for the specific requirements on record retention.
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| Q. |
If I have a real estate license, can I sell my property "by owner" or do I have to list the property with a broker? |
| A. |
Any licensee (whether sponsored or inoperative) CAN sell their property "by owner," provided the licensee is "sole owner" of the property. In this context, the licensee is a "sole owner" if the licensee (i) has a 100% ownership interest, (ii) has ownership as a joint tenant or tenant by the entirety, or (iii) holds a 100% beneficial interest if the property is held in a land trust. A licensee who qualifies to sell property "by owner" must include in all advertisements (including yard signs) the words “agent owned” or “broker owned.” See Section 10-30(c) of the Act.
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| Q. |
Must I disclose my status as a real estate licensee every time I am a principal in a real estate transaction? |
| A. |
Yes. Every time a licensee is a principal (the seller, buyer, landlord or tenant) in a real estate transaction, the licensee must disclose in writing his or her status as a real estate licensee. The best way to comply with this requirement is to write the disclosure (e.g. “Illinois real estate licensee,” “real estate salesperson,” “real estate broker,” etc.) next to the licensee's signature on the real estate contract or lease. Another way to comply is to add the disclosure as a printed provision within the contract or lease. Disclosure may also be made by a separate writing (e.g. via a letter to all of the other principals) tendered prior to the execution of the contract or lease. However, simply providing the licensee's business card to all of the principals is insufficient disclosure.
If a licensee signs a real estate contract or lease as an employee of the principal (e.g. as an officer of a corporation that is the seller), the licensee must make the same disclosure.
See Sections 10-27 and 10-30(c) of the Act and Rule 1450.190.
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| Q. |
Can an individual work both as a real estate licensee and as a mortgage brokerage or loan officer? |
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The Act and Rules do not prohibit this dual role. Accordingly, an individual may represent the same client both as a real estate agent and as a mortgage broker or loan officer, even on the same transaction. However, Sections 10-10(b) and (c) of the Act may require that some disclosures be made (a real estate licensee must disclose to a client all sources of compensation related to a transaction and disclose any ownership interest in any entity with whom the client may do business). Also, it is the responsibility of the individual in this dual role to comply any other applicable laws, local, state or federal, regarding their mortgage activities.
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| Q. |
Can the same broker serve as the managing broker for more than one office? |
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Yes. This a new provision under the Real Estate License Act of 2000. Accordingly, the same broker may serve as the managing broker of the main office and serve as the managing broker of any number of its branch offices. In addition, one broker may serve as the managing broker for the main office, and a different broker or brokers may serve as the managing broker of any number of its branch offices. Other variations are permissible.
The sponsoring broker license is responsible for the supervision of all managing brokers.
Note - Having the same broker serve as managing broker of multiple offices is not a requirement. If desired, a different broker may serve as the managing broker for each different office.
Note also - The same broker may NOT serve as the managing broker for multiple offices under different sponsoring broker licenses. For example, the same broker cannot serve as the managing broker of the main offices of two broker corporations.
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| Q. |
When do I need to register my real estate business under an ASSUMED BUSINESS NAME? |
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Registration for an assumed business name is required any time a real estate business is marketed to the public under a name that is IN ANY WAY different than the name appearing on the sponsoring broker license. A sole proprietor registration must first be made in each county in Illinois in which the sponsoring broker is doing business. A corporation, limited partnership, general partnership or limited liability company must register with the Illinois Secretary of State. Copies of the registration documents must then be filed with the Licensing Department in Springfield. See Rule 1450.90.
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| Q. |
Is a real estate license required for Property Management? |
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The answer to this question depends upon the specific types of property management services provided.
Property management activities that involve general administration, like contracting for property maintenance (garbage pick-up, etc.) and paying general expenses (utilities, etc.), do NOT require a real estate license. Serving as an accountant for association dues also does not require a real estate license.
Only those property management activities that involve a conveyance of real estate by contract or lease require a real estate license. Accordingly, property management activities that require a real estate license include: showing a unit for sale or lease, negotiating lease or real estate contract terms, maintaining security deposits, rent payments or earnest money deposits.
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| Q. |
What are the requirements for real estate advertisements? |
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Real estate advertisements are governed by Section 10-30 of the Act and Rule 1450.140. Advertisements on the Internet are also governed by Rule 1450.145
All real estate advertisements must be supervised by the managing broker. The name of the sponsoring broker must appear in each advertisement. It is recommended that the sponsoring broker's address and telephone number also appear in each advertisement. The name and telephone number of a sponsored licensee may appear in an advertisement along with the information regarding the sponsoring broker. In other words, a sponsored licensee may not advertise in his or her name only - this includes a listing in a telephone directory. Subparagraph (f) of Section 10-30 states: “Nothing in this Act shall be construed to require specific print size as between the broker's business name and the name of the licensee.” Also, note that business cards are advertisements and must comply with these requirements.
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| ESCROW |
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| The Escrow Rule is found at 1450.175. The Escrow Rule is relatively long and detailed. The Escrow Rule is strictly enforced. All managing brokers who accept escrow money should carefully study the Escrow Rule. |
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| Q. |
What is escrow money? |
| A. |
Generally defined, escrow money is any money in the possession of a broker that does not belong to the broker. Refer to Section 1-10 of the Act and paragraph 1450.175(a) of the Escrow Rule for the complete definition.
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| Q. |
Can any real estate licensee hold real estate escrow money? |
| A. |
No. Only sponsoring brokers may hold real estate escrow money. The managing broker of each office is responsible to ensure compliance with the Escrow Rule. Branch offices have the option to either maintain escrow money or to forward escrow money to the main office. Managing brokers of branch offices should refer to paragraph 1450.175(k) of the Escrow Rule for the requirements regarding branch offices.
Leasing agents, salespersons, or brokers who are sponsored by another broker may NOT hold real estate escrow money.
Unlicensed persons, leasing agents, salespersons, or brokers who are sponsored by another broker may assist in the escrow bookkeeping duties in the office.
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| Q. |
Is it required that sponsoring brokers accept real estate escrow money? |
| A. |
No. The Act and Rules do NOT require that a sponsoring broker accept escrow money. It is the choice of the sponsoring broker whether to accept escrow money. The sponsoring broker may recommend to the principals to the transaction that an attorney, or closing agent, or other professional serve as the escrow agent. The sponsoring broker should ensure that the real estate contract, or any other document, does not contain language in conflict with the sponsoring broker's choice not to accept the escrow money.
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| Q. |
What information must a managing broker provide to DPR regarding escrow accounts? |
| A. |
Paragraph 1450.175(m) of the Escrow Rule requires that a managing broker file with the Licensing Department in Springfield a Consent to Audit All Escrow Accounts form at the time of application for license and at every renewal date. In addition, in between renewal dates, the managing broker must file a new Consent to Audit All Escrow Accounts form within 10 days after adding new escrow account(s) with the existing bank, changing signatories on an existing escrow account(s), or changing or adding a new bank at which escrow accounts will be maintained. However, a new form is not required if a new escrow account is opened which falls under an umbrella escrow account which has already by identified in a prior form.
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| Q. |
Does a managing broker have a choice whether to deposit escrow money into an interest bearing or non-interest bearing escrow account? |
| A. |
No. Paragraph 1450.175(b)(1) of the Escrow Rule provides that the escrow money must be deposited into a non-interest bearing escrow account unless all of the principals to the transaction provide written instructions requiring the deposit into an interest bearing escrow account, or unless some other law requires a deposit into an interest bearing escrow account (e.g. security deposits for leases at some types of buildings).
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| Q. |
What are the time requirements for the deposit and disbursement of escrow money from the escrow account? |
| A. |
First, note that absent any other written agreement, earnest money deposits should NOT be deposited until a real estate contract is executed.
Deposits - Once a real estate contract or lease is executed, escrow monies should be deposited into an escrow account not later than the end of the next business day following the broker's receipt of the escrow money. Accordingly, if an earnest money check is tendered days prior to the execution of a contract, the check must be deposited into an escrow account not later than the end of the next business day after the date of the execution of the contract. If subsequent installments of earnest monies are received, those earnest monies must be deposited not later than the end of the next business day following their receipt.
Disbursements - If a transaction closes and the managing broker is directed to forward the escrow money to the closing agent, the managing broker must forward the escrow money to the closing agent as instructed. If a transaction closes and the managing broker is directed to pay commissions (either the broker's own commission or a cooperating commission) directly from the escrow deposit, the escrow money must be transferred out of the escrow account not later than the end of the next business day after the closing. This is true even if there is a dispute regarding commissions - the escrow money must be moved out of the escrow account by the end of the next business day after closing (unless of course a possession escrow is in issue). If a transaction does not close, the managing broker must keep the escrow money in the escrow account until the broker receives written authorization from all of the principals to the transaction (or their attorneys) showing agreement as to how the escrow money is to be disbu rsed, or until receipt of a court order (see below). Upon receipt of the written authorization or court order, the broker must disburse accordingly by no later than the end of the next business day.
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| Q. |
What must a managing broker do if escrow monies that are required to be deposited into the broker's escrow account are not tendered or do not clear? |
| A. |
Paragraph 1450.175(e) of the Escrow Rule requires that the managing broker notify all principals in writing.
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| Q. |
What does the prohibition against “commingling” mean? |
| A. |
Only escrow money related to real estate transactions and broker funds (funds the broker may deposit into the escrow account to avoid or to pay bank service charges) may be deposited into an escrow account. Mixing escrow money in an account with personal or business funds constitutes commingling. Great care should be taken to avoid commingling.
It is recommended that managing brokers use escrow accounts that have check writing ability to allow for direct disbursements from the escrow accounts. However, if the escrow account does not have check writing ability, the managing broker may transfer the escrow money to a business account with check writing ability for immediate disbursement from the business account (e.g. on the day of closing). This type of transfer, as long as the escrow money is immediately forwarded from the business account to the authorized recipient of the escrow money, does NOT constitute commingling.
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| Q. |
What are the escrow records that must be maintained? |
| A. |
Please refer to paragraph 1450.175(i) of the Escrow Rule for a description of the required escrow records. Managing brokers of branch offices should also refer to paragraph 1450.175(k). Great care should be taken to ensure that all of the required data is included in each required escrow record.
DPR has samples of a ledger card, journal, and reconciliation worksheet. The sample escrow records may be obtained by mailing a request, with a return, self addressed, stamped enveloped (.60) to:
Illinois Department of Financial and Professional Regulation
Division of Professional Regulation
Attn: Docket Administrator
100 West Randolph Street, 9th Floor
Chicago, IL 60601
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| Q. |
What are the obligations of the managing broker when there is a dispute between the principals to a transaction regarding an escrow deposit? |
| A. |
Paragraph 1450.175(h) of the Escrow Rule sets forth the options when there is a dispute. The options consist of:
(1) hold the money in the escrow account until the managing broker receives written direction from all principals to the transaction showing agreement as to disbursement;
(2) hold the money in the escrow account until the managing broker receives a court order providing for disbursement of the escrow money. Some courts in Illinois allow the managing broker to turn the escrow money over to the court during the tendency of the proceedings.
(3) hold the money in the escrow account until the funds are turned over to the State Treasurer. Note that the State Treasurer can only accept the funds pursuant to the Uniform Disposition of Unclaimed Property Act which requires that the escrow money be abandoned for five years. The term “abandoned” is satisfied if the managing broker is unable to contact a principal for five years or is unable to obtain the written direction from all principals for five years.
Be aware - the “dispute” requirements trump any other escrow provision regarding escrow disbursement. For example, while Section 20-20(h)8(ii) of the Act provides that a managing broker may disburse escrow money prior to a closing pursuant to directions in any written contract signed by the principals, if there is any basis for the managing broker to believe that any principal disputes a disbursement pursuant to those directions, the managing broker must follow the options set forth in paragraph 1450.175(h) of the Escrow Rule.
A note on the nature of a “dispute” - be aware
FHA Credit Score Changes Coming
In February we were still funding loans down to a 580 credit score, now its 620 with most lenders. Some lenders are taking score requirements up to 640 and 660. The lending process is moving back to its technical book procedures. The changes are good because those that are buying now shouldn't experience defaults, and bad because many buyers aren't prepared for the rapid changes.
Regarding verifying down payment - Important: Any underwriting unit can ask for bank statements and official verification of deposits in tandem for the last 60 days up and through closing. NOTE: Any large deposits going into the account will need to be fully sourced, even if its a large deposit going into a giftors account. Cash deposits are not allowed. WHY?...
Recently there has been a slew of sellers kicking back the down payment to buyers in order to off-load properties. This has caused a tightening of down payment verification. Please take a moment to read the link at
http://gilkerk.realestateloans.com/fha-gift-letter/2009/05/07/i-need-to-make-a-home-loan-application-help.html
Posted by
gilkerk
( FHA, Government Home Loans, Home Loan application, VA, Home Appraisals, Credit Scores, USDA Loan, Credit Repair, Refinance, Downpayment, Homeownership, Housing Bottom, Closings, Crystal Lake Real Estate Agents, Agonquin Real Estate Agents, Cary Illinois Real Estate Agents, Mortgages, Mortgage Interest Rates, Fannie Mae, Freddie Mac, FHA Appraisals, FHA Appraisers, HUD Owned Homes, Fannie Mae 105%, Fannie Mae Refi Plus, HUD Homes, HUD Foreclosures, McNeil Financial Group, Lake in the Hills Mortgage, McHenry Home Loans, Home State Bank IL, realestateloans.com, mcneil financial group, (847) 458-8700, Integra Mortgage Schaumburg Illinois, Mortgage Buydowns, FHA 2-1 Buydowns, Mortgage loan application, fnma 1003, 203ks, fha 203ks, 203k, Gil Kerbashian, Home Affordable 125%, FHA Gift Letter, (847) 794-5000 )
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Mortgage Disclosure Improvement Act
Mortgage Disclosure Improvement Act – 2 Months Early
by Richard Triplett, CMB
Effective on July 30, 2009, some of the provisions in the final rule for revisions to the Truth-in-Lending Act (TILA) become effective – 2 months earlier than the original date of October 1, 2009. The specific provisions effective by this “new” rule implement the Mortgage Disclosure Improvement Act (MDIA).
How did this happen? The final rule issued by the Federal Reserve Board on July 30, 2008 regarding the Truth-in-Lending Act and Home Ownership Equity Protection Act has an effective date of October 1, 2009. On July 30, 2008, Congress enacted the Housing and Economic Recovery Act which included provisions regarding MDIA. On October 3, 2008, Congress enacted the Emergency Economic Stabilization Act which amended MDIA. On May 8, 2009 the Federal Reserve Board approved final rules to implement the provisions of MDIA, as amended by the Emergency Economic Stabilization Act and applied an effective date of July 30, 2009. MDIA amends TILA, codifies early disclosure requirements and expands regulatory provisions. Confused yet?
The requirements that become effective for all loan applications received on or after July 30, 2009 are detailed below. These requirements are not applicable, and there have been no changes at this time to Home Equity Lines of Credit requirements. Additionally, MDIA requires additional language for adjustable-rate loans; however, this provision is still forthcoming by the Federal Reserve.
Initial Fee Restrictions – collection of fees from a mortgage applicant are limited to a reasonable credit report fee prior to the issuance of early disclosures. Although the industry was preparing for this requirement due to TILA changes effective October 1, and the RESPA final rule, it is being applied early based on MDIA. This is one of the fairly significant changes of MDIA that will require a change in policy and potentially revisions to advance fee disclosures for lenders and brokers.
Early Disclosures – though nothing is changed in terms of initial timing of the disclosure (3 business days from application), the issuance of the initial TIL Statement now extends to “any extension of credit secured by the dwelling of a consumer”. It has been my experience that for the most part, lenders and broker alike have generally been issuing the TIL Statement in accordance with this requirement already. However, there are new requirements in terms of disclosure timing versus consummation, covered below. Keep in mind that “business days” referenced for early disclosures is based on a general definition of business days, which is a day in which the
creditor’s offices are open to the public for carrying on substantially all of its business functions. The business day definition differs on the requirements for the waiting periods prior to consummation.
No Requirement to Complete Statement – early disclosures and subsequent disclosures must contain a clear notice stating “You are not required to complete this agreement merely because you have received these disclosures or signed a loan application”. This language is already required on high-cost loan disclosures, but now applies to any extension of credit secured by the dwelling of a consumer.
Seven Business Days Prior to Consummation – MDIA requires a seven business day waiting period prior to consummation from delivery or mailing of the TIL Statement to the consumer prior to consummation. This timing begins when a creditor mails or otherwise delivers the TIL Statement to the consumer. It is not based on receipt date or assumed receipt date by the consumer but rather mailing or delivery by the creditor. For purposes of both this seven-day waiting period and the three-day waiting period (indicated below), “business day” is defined as meaning all calendar days except Sundays and legal holidays. This is a significant change particularly for wholesale lenders. As a wholesale lender, I would recommend you review your processes and procedures to determine whether (based on the way you do business) the mortgage brokers in which you do business will or will not meet the definition of creditor under TILA.
Remember the timing starts from the issuance of the TIL Statement by the creditor. This is likewise a significant change due to MDIA requirements.
Three Business Days Prior to Consummation – Although creditors are already required to re-disclose the TIL Statement to a consumer when the APR is out of tolerance under TILA, it is typically done at the time of consummation. MDIA now changes this to a three business day time period prior to consummation using the definition of business day the same as the seven day waiting period. In this case, the consumer must receive the re-disclosed TIL Statement prior to consummation. Additionally, in this case, until you have receipt of a TIL Statement within this three-day time period prior to consummation by the consumer that is not out of tolerance, you must re-disclose until this requirement is met. This is also a significant change to the issuance of the TIL Statement.
Time Shares – for time share transactions, the early disclosure requirements apply but the seven-day and three-day waiting periods do not apply. The timing on early disclosures for time shares is applicable based on the receipt of the consumer’s application or before the credit is extended. Subsequent changes to terms beyond tolerance for time shares can be disclosed no later than consummation.
Waiver of Seven and Three-Day Waiting Periods – both the seven-day and three-day waiting periods regarding TIL Statement disclosure can be shortened or waived if the extension of credit is necessary to meet a bona fide personal financial emergency. If subsequent to this waiver the TIL Statement is again out of tolerance, the waiver is no longer effective. Once the TIL Statement is redisclosed again, if necessary, a waiver must be requested again. In order to request this waiver, a pre-printed form cannot be used. The consumer must prepare a dated written statement, signed by each consumer that will be legally obligated and entitled to receive the TIL Statement, detailing the specific emergency and specifies that request for waiver of the waiting period. This waiver should follow the regulatory requirements for waiving rescission rights and waiving a waiting period prior to consummation of a high cost loan under HOEPA.
The Board of the Federal Reserve has also indicated a future proposal containing model disclosures and clauses regarding closed-end credit.
Disclaimer: The information presented in this article represents the opinion of the author and not that of AllRegs. This article is not meant to be nor should it be construed as advice of legal counsel. The applicability of the information contained herein will vary based on the nature of each lending institution's business, under what law it was created, and its loan products and procedures. Readers are strongly urged to consult with their legal counsel and/or contact local counsel as appropriate in the various states and jurisdictions to determine the applicability of the materials contained herein to the specific facts and circumstances of each organization's programs and products and to identify other law applicable to its business operations. The information contained herein was not reviewed or approved by counsel in the respective jurisdictions.
Read Previous articles in our Article Archive.
Above article written by Richard Triplett, CMB ALLREGS
Posted by
gilkerk
( Government Home Loans, Home Loan application, VA, USDA Loan, Credit Repair, Downpayment, Homeownership, Crystal Lake Real Estate Agents, Agonquin Real Estate Agents, Cary Illinois Real Estate Agents, Mortgages, Treasury, Federal Reserve, Fannie Mae, Freddie Mac, Housing Recovery, Lake in the Hills Mortgage, McHenry Home Loans, realestateloans.com, (847) 458-8700, Integra Mortgage Schaumburg Illinois, Consumer Financial Protection Agency, Mortgage loan application, HVCC )
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Northwest Young Scholars Foundation : Spelling Bee
Crystal Lake IL: The Northwest Young Scholars Foundation is coordinating a Northwest Suburbs Regional Spelling Bee for 7th and 8th grade students. This wonderful family and community event is scheduled for the first quarter of 2010.
We at the NWYSF expect to promote this not-for-profit event and its sponsors to approximately 20,000 community leaders, parents and children through internet and print. We would like your organization to become a sponsor of this very unique and worthwhile event. Families and teachers from all over the area will have an opportunity for their 7th and 8th grade student’s to compete and win an educational scholarship.
It’s for the kids but we want to bring value to our sponsors too. You, as a scholarship and event sponsor, will be highlighted on all literature and advertising for this event. But it’s more than advertising: When you attach your name to a community event such as this you will be building incredible Goodwill.
All of our staff and support personnel will be volunteering their efforts to this event so none of your sponsorship dollars will go to administration expenses. 100% of your sponsorship will be directed to the students solely.
Your contribution will positively impact our local children while promoting you as a community leader and a thoughtful advertiser. Because we are a full volunteer organization, the educational sponsorships are very affordable with three levels to choose from: Platinum sponsorship is $1000, Gold $500 and Silver $250.
Please take a moment to consider this worthwhile event and call us today to secure a level. Remember, all your dollars go to the children. We need your support today so that we can start executing the remainder of the events activities.
Gil Kerbashian and Donald Brewer
Directors
Gil Kerbashian (847) 873-7295
Don Brewer (847) 217-7126
We are currently seeking Prounouncers and other volunteers to help us with this wonderful project.
Posted by
gilkerk
( General, Crystal Lake Real Estate Agents, Agonquin Real Estate Agents, Cary Illinois Real Estate Agents, McNeil Financial Group, Lake in the Hills Mortgage, McHenry Home Loans, realestateloans.com, mcneil financial group, (847) 458-8700, Integra Mortgage Schaumburg Illinois, Donald Brewer, Gil Kerbashian, Crystal Lake IL Teachers, Northwest Suburbs Il, Northwest Young Scholars Foundation )
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Mortgage Rates Now a-la-carte
Mortgage rates have gotten sliced and diced in very narrow catagories and credit score ranges. Last year we were able to pool 700 ficos with 650.. this doesn't hold true any longer. I've included the MAIN FANNIE MAE AND FREDDIE MAC matrix below for what we as mortgage lenders have to look at before we price a loan. There is also matrices for cash-out refinances, condo's, investment properties and 2nd homes.
Don't expect any of the mortgage rates you see in the paper or online to hold true. The mortgage rates you see online are "base" rates and are only offered to a very small percentage of the population with the highest credits scores and largest down payments.
With declining property values, high loan defaults and lower credit scores so common now you will be better served working with a mortgage person you can first trust and one that has access to many lenders. Access to many lenders will help you find the right rate and approval for your particular needs.
As you can see on the below matrix 720 credit scores with lots of equity home owners are getting the best rates. This matrix applies to conventional loans only not FHA or VA loans. FHA and VA loans offer there own risk based adjustments. Guideline changes have been almost non stop since the end of 2007 due to the disrupted nature of mortgage lending.
Below adjustments are strictly for addtional points added for risk based add-ons. 1 point equals 1% of the loan amount. EX: 1 point for a $100,000 loan is $1,000, 2 points for a $100,000 loan is $2,000, and so on.
A borrower that doesn't want to pay risk based 'points' can typically increase their rate to absorb points. It usually costs a .25% increase in rate to eliminate 1 point.
Example: .25% increase in rate may eliminate a 1 point charge, .50% in rate may eliminate a 2 point charge. A 5.0% rate may have a 2 point charge or the client may pay 5.5% rate with 0 points.
The below risk based point adds are national guidelines that apply to all conventional mortgage lenders. Some lenders can add on their own additional "regional" risk premiums.
Clients can choose to incur the below addtional points or a higher rate to offset any additional points that must be charged due to additional risk.
| Fanne Freddie Conventional Conforming Adjusters |
|
|
|
Increase rates or charge borrower below points or a combination of point/rate |
| LTV% |
|
|
<=60% |
60.01-<=70% |
70.01-75% |
75.01-80% |
80.01-85% |
85.01-90% |
90.01-95% |
95.01-97% |
| LTV / FICO Adjusters: All Products w/Terms > 15 Yrs |
|
|
|
|
|
|
| >=740 |
|
FIXED/ARM |
(0.250) |
0.000 |
0.000 |
0.000 |
0.000 |
0.000 |
0.000 |
n/a |
| 720 - 739 |
|
FIXED/ARM |
(0.250) |
0.000 |
0.000 |
0.250 |
0.000 |
0.000 |
0.000 |
n/a |
| 700 - 719 |
|
FIXED/ARM |
(0.250) |
0.500 |
0.500 |
0.750 |
n/a |
n/a |
n/a |
n/a |
| 680 - 699 |
|
FIXED/ARM |
0.000 |
0.500 |
1.000 |
1.500 |
n/a |
n/a |
n/a |
n/a |
| 660 - 679 |
|
FIXED/ARM |
0.000 |
1.000 |
2.000 |
2.500 |
n/a |
n/a |
n/a |
n/a |
| 640 - 659 |
|
FIXED/ARM |
0.500 |
1.250 |
2.500 |
3.000 |
n/a |
n/a |
n/a |
n/a |
| 620 - 639 |
|
FIXED/ARM |
0.500 |
1.500 |
3.000 |
3.000 |
n/a |
n/a |
n/a |
n/a |
| <620 |
|
FIXED/ARM |
n/a |
n/a |
n/a |
n/a |
n/a |
n/a |
n/a |
n/a |
|
ADDITIONAL CONVENTIONAL CONFORMING ADJUSTERS
CHARGE A HIGHER RATE OR BORROWER MUST PAY ADDITIONAL BELOW POINTS
|
|
|
|
| |
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
| LTV > 90% <= 95% |
|
|
|
|
|
0.250 |
| 15 -year FRM w/ 120-month term |
|
|
|
|
0.250 |
| Investment Property LTV <= 75% |
|
|
|
|
1.750 |
| Investment Property LTV >75% <= 80% |
|
|
|
3.000 |
| Investment Property LTV >80% <= 90% |
|
|
|
n/a |
| 2 Unit Property |
|
|
|
|
|
1.000 |
| 2 Unit Second Home Cash-Out refi <= 75% |
|
|
|
0.500 |
| 3 & 4 Unit Property |
|
|
|
|
|
1.000 |
| Secondary Financing |
|
|
|
|
|
|
| 75/20/5 LTV>65%/CLTV>90<=95% & FICO>=720 |
|
|
|
0.250 |
| 75/20/5 LTV>65%/CLTV>90<=95% & FICO<720 |
|
|
|
0.500 |
| 80/10/10 |
|
|
|
|
|
|
0.250 |
| All Other LTV>75% & FICO>=720 |
|
|
|
|
0.250 |
| All Other LTV>75% & FICO<720 |
|
|
|
|
0.500 |
| Non-escrowed (except CA, IA, IL, MN, NJ, NY, OR) |
|
|
|
0.250 |
| Temporary buydowns >80% LTV w/no MI |
|
|
|
1.000 |
| Condo > 75% LTV |
|
|
|
|
ALL PRODUCTS W/ TERMS > 15 YRS |
0.750 |
| Low Loan Size Adjuster |
|
|
|
|
|
| $0 - $49,999 |
|
|
|
|
|
0.500 |
| $50,000 - $99,999 |
|
|
|
|
|
0.250 |
| |
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
Posted by
gilkerk
( FHA, Government Home Loans, Home Loan application, VA, Home Appraisals, Credit Scores, USDA Loan, Refinance, Downpayment, Homeownership, Closings, Crystal Lake Real Estate Agents, Agonquin Real Estate Agents, Cary Illinois Real Estate Agents, Mortgages, Mortgage Interest Rates, Fannie Mae, Freddie Mac, FHA Appraisals, FHA Appraisers, HUD Owned Homes, HUD Homes, HUD Foreclosures, Lake in the Hills Mortgage, McHenry Home Loans, realestateloans.com, Integra Mortgage Schaumburg Illinois, Mortgage Buydowns, 2-1 buydown, FHA 2-1 Buydowns, Mortgage loan application, mortgage application, fnma 1003, 203ks, fha 203ks, 203k, Gil Kerbashian, FHA Gift Letter, (847) 794-5000, Condominiums, Allied Mortgage Capital Corp, Allied Mortgage )
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Understanding Down Payment Assistance in Illinois and Wisconsin
Gil Kerbashian- Loan Officer (847) 873-7295 Email: gilkerk at yahoo.com
Your Path to Homeownership Starts Here...
1) Many different programs: Local, State and National funds. Not always guaranteed. The two most popular currently in use are the FHLB and IHDA. I can stack them together.
2) Typically for first time buyers (not a homeowner in last 3 years) but not always limited to first time buyers. i.e. Veterans.
3) Income restrictions. Low, and Low to Mod income. Call for income restrictions- county specific.
COOK COUNTY EXAMPLES: FIRST CASE: JANE AND CHILD- 2 PERSON HOUSEHOLD. HOUSHOLD INCOME -$42000. SECOND CASE: JIM, WIFE, 2 KIDS- 4 PERSON HOUSEHOLD. HOUSEHOLD INCOME- $104,000. WHAT DO THEY QUALIFY FOR?
4) Purchase price restrictions. 1 unit - $373k. 2 unit - $478k. Likely won't go that high.
5) Not all lenders participate. Brokers typically not included.
6) Household occupants matter. Children count towards income and limits.
7) Funds must be reserved. Funds run out.
8) Credit scores matter. Clean credit for last 12-24 months.
9) Types of property: 1 unit typical and able to be used with 2 unit properties. No 3-4 unit properties, no investors.
10) Can be used with FHA, VA and Conventional. Best with FHA and VA. Not available with HomePath and 203k rehab loans.
11) Zero payment, zero interest, zero accrued interest- SILENT SECOND LOAN. Loan is forgiven over a period. Prorated payment if property sold within recapture period.
12) Buyer must contribute 1% of purchase price or $1000 whichever is greater.
Call Gil today to have your buyers preapproved before you start showing homes. Share the information. Many potential homebuyers don't realize these programs exist.
Copy this webpage's url/link into your Facebook page and get the word out to family, friends and past clients today!
Library of Flyers:
Hope the below can help provide solutions.
The following are my most popular flyer links:
-FHA Typical repairs: www.realestateloans.com/fharepairs.pdf
-DPP: www.realestateloans.com/dpp.pdf and IHDA: www.realestateloans.com/ihda.pdf
This is The Best Time Ever to Buy a Home in Illinois!
Homes across the state continue to be sold at all times low, which means their is no better time to buy a home than now.
According to the Illinois Association of Realtor's, the average selling price of a home in the Chicago land area has dropped 11.5 percent, a substantial decline from a year earlier. With the average selling price at $135,000, potential buyers continue to benefit.
With the number of banked-own homes remaining over 25,000, it seems that this trend will only continue.
In addition to the low trending costs of homes, an FHA loan continues to be a bright option. Through an FHA loan, potential home-buyers can land the house of their dreams with a minimum down payment, and interest rates that continue to remain low as well. Do not hesitate to take advantage of this opportunity!
Posted by
gilkerk
( FHA, Government Home Loans, Home Loan application, Downpayment, Homeownership, Housing Bottom, Crystal Lake Real Estate Agents, Agonquin Real Estate Agents, Cary Illinois Real Estate Agents, Fannie Mae, Freddie Mac, HUD Owned Homes, HUD Homes, HUD Foreclosures, Lake in the Hills Mortgage, McHenry Home Loans, realestateloans.com, Gil Kerbashian, Illinois Home Loans, VA Home Loans )
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FHA Home Loans Help Illinois Homebuyers Safely Purchase 1-4 Unit Properties
Despite
reports that indicate the United States has successfully climbed out of
an economic recession, and that real estate sales in Illinois
reportedly increased nearly 15 percent from a year ago; it is no secret
that many prospective homebuyers still face the negative affects of the
recent recession. Fortunately, through an FHA loan, those that are
struggling with a poor credit history or limited cash savings can still
purchase the home of their dreams.
Illinois
FHA loans provide comfort to those that may not be able to qualify for a
traditional loan. Through the Illinois FHA loan program, borrowers that
suffer from a poor credit history, even bankruptcy, can still qualify
for a loan. Perhaps equally beneficial, FHA loans allow borrowers who do
not have the typically required 20 percent down-payment to qualify for a
loan with as little as a 3 percent down-payment.
While
FHA loans do have a maximum limit, prospective homebuyers should be
delighted to find that these limits range from approximately $200,000
$410,000 across the state of Illinois for single family homes. With FHA
loans, prospective homebuyers can benefit from low down payments (if
any), low closing costs, and easy credit qualifying.
Don’t let the shaky state of the economy spoil your plans for
purchasing a home, options are out there, and an FHA loan may be the
right one for you.
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Who am I?
Gil Kerbashian
Homeownership Support and Expertise Since 1997
Inland Bank Home Mortgage
NMLS 197757
Lender
Serving all of Illinois
Tel: 847-873-7295
Fax: 847-770-4850
"Gil stands behind his promises and went more than the extra mile to make me feel comfortable" - Sue Larsen Palatine, IL
"Thank you for being available whenever we needed you" - Peggy and Tim Walsh" - Evanston, IL
"We never had a problem getting questions answered clearly" - Dr. Rubik and Mary Sarkisian
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