FHA Credit Score Changes Coming
In February we were still funding loans down to a 580 credit score, now its 620 with most lenders. Some lenders are taking score requirements up to 640 and 660. The lending process is moving back to its technical book procedures. The changes are good because those that are buying now shouldn't experience defaults, and bad because many buyers aren't prepared for the rapid changes.
Regarding verifying down payment - Important: Any underwriting unit can ask for bank statements and official verification of deposits in tandem for the last 60 days up and through closing. NOTE: Any large deposits going into the account will need to be fully sourced, even if its a large deposit going into a giftors account. Cash deposits are not allowed. WHY?...
Recently there has been a slew of sellers kicking back the down payment to buyers in order to off-load properties. This has caused a tightening of down payment verification. Please take a moment to read the link at
FHA : What are Origination and Discount Points?
Definition of a "Point": A "Point" is a financial term used in the mortgage business to represent a percentage of the loan amount. One Point would be 1% of the loan amount, two Points would be 2% of the loan amount, so on and so on.
Origination points: Points charged to originate a mortgage loan. FHA allows a maximum of 1 point to be charged on FHA insured transactions.
Discount points: Points charged by the broker or lender to obtain a specific rate. To "buydown" a rate from 5% to 5.25% may cost 1 discount point.
Origination and discount points are labelled as such and must segmented into their own categories on the Good Faith Estimate.
Discount points DO NOT count towards the minimum statutory committment amount.
Mortgage Rates Now a-la-carte
Mortgage rates have gotten sliced and diced in very narrow catagories and credit score ranges. Last year we were able to pool 700 ficos with 650.. this doesn't hold true any longer. I've included the MAIN FANNIE MAE AND FREDDIE MAC matrix below for what we as mortgage lenders have to look at before we price a loan. There is also matrices for cash-out refinances, condo's, investment properties and 2nd homes.
Don't expect any of the mortgage rates you see in the paper or online to hold true. The mortgage rates you see online are "base" rates and are only offered to a very small percentage of the population with the highest credits scores and largest down payments.
With declining property values, high loan defaults and lower credit scores so common now you will be better served working with a mortgage person you can first trust and one that has access to many lenders. Access to many lenders will help you find the right rate and approval for your particular needs.
As you can see on the below matrix 720 credit scores with lots of equity home owners are getting the best rates. This matrix applies to conventional loans only not FHA or VA loans. FHA and VA loans offer there own risk based adjustments. Guideline changes have been almost non stop since the end of 2007 due to the disrupted nature of mortgage lending.
Below adjustments are strictly for addtional points added for risk based add-ons. 1 point equals 1% of the loan amount. EX: 1 point for a $100,000 loan is $1,000, 2 points for a $100,000 loan is $2,000, and so on.
A borrower that doesn't want to pay risk based 'points' can typically increase their rate to absorb points. It usually costs a .25% increase in rate to eliminate 1 point.
Example: .25% increase in rate may eliminate a 1 point charge, .50% in rate may eliminate a 2 point charge. A 5.0% rate may have a 2 point charge or the client may pay 5.5% rate with 0 points.
The below risk based point adds are national guidelines that apply to all conventional mortgage lenders. Some lenders can add on their own additional "regional" risk premiums.
Clients can choose to incur the below addtional points or a higher rate to offset any additional points that must be charged due to additional risk.
| Fanne Freddie Conventional Conforming Adjusters | Increase rates or charge borrower below points or a combination of point/rate | |||||||||
| LTV% | <=60% | 60.01-<=70% | 70.01-75% | 75.01-80% | 80.01-85% | 85.01-90% | 90.01-95% | 95.01-97% | ||
| LTV / FICO Adjusters: All Products w/Terms > 15 Yrs | ||||||||||
| >=740 | FIXED/ARM | (0.250) | 0.000 | 0.000 | 0.000 | 0.000 | 0.000 | 0.000 | n/a | |
| 720 - 739 | FIXED/ARM | (0.250) | 0.000 | 0.000 | 0.250 | 0.000 | 0.000 | 0.000 | n/a | |
| 700 - 719 | FIXED/ARM | (0.250) | 0.500 | 0.500 | 0.750 | n/a | n/a | n/a | n/a | |
| 680 - 699 | FIXED/ARM | 0.000 | 0.500 | 1.000 | 1.500 | n/a | n/a | n/a | n/a | |
| 660 - 679 | FIXED/ARM | 0.000 | 1.000 | 2.000 | 2.500 | n/a | n/a | n/a | n/a | |
| 640 - 659 | FIXED/ARM | 0.500 | 1.250 | 2.500 | 3.000 | n/a | n/a | n/a | n/a | |
| 620 - 639 | FIXED/ARM | 0.500 | 1.500 | 3.000 | 3.000 | n/a | n/a | n/a | n/a | |
| <620 | FIXED/ARM | n/a | n/a | n/a | n/a | n/a | n/a | n/a | n/a | |
|
ADDITIONAL CONVENTIONAL CONFORMING ADJUSTERS CHARGE A HIGHER RATE OR BORROWER MUST PAY ADDITIONAL BELOW POINTS |
|||||||
| LTV > 90% <= 95% | 0.250 | ||||||
| 15 -year FRM w/ 120-month term | 0.250 | ||||||
| Investment Property LTV <= 75% | 1.750 | ||||||
| Investment Property LTV >75% <= 80% | 3.000 | ||||||
| Investment Property LTV >80% <= 90% | n/a | ||||||
| 2 Unit Property | 1.000 | ||||||
| 2 Unit Second Home Cash-Out refi <= 75% | 0.500 | ||||||
| 3 & 4 Unit Property | 1.000 | ||||||
| Secondary Financing | |||||||
| 75/20/5 LTV>65%/CLTV>90<=95% & FICO>=720 | 0.250 | ||||||
| 75/20/5 LTV>65%/CLTV>90<=95% & FICO<720 | 0.500 | ||||||
| 80/10/10 | 0.250 | ||||||
| All Other LTV>75% & FICO>=720 | 0.250 | ||||||
| All Other LTV>75% & FICO<720 | 0.500 | ||||||
| Non-escrowed (except CA, IA, IL, MN, NJ, NY, OR) | 0.250 | ||||||
| Temporary buydowns >80% LTV w/no MI | 1.000 | ||||||
| Condo > 75% LTV | ALL PRODUCTS W/ TERMS > 15 YRS | 0.750 | |||||
| Low Loan Size Adjuster | |||||||
| $0 - $49,999 | 0.500 | ||||||
| $50,000 - $99,999 | 0.250 | ||||||
MY FHA Expanded Approvals Are HOT Right Now
MY FHA Expanded approvals ARE hot right now
There are several levels of approval for FHA borrowers: These levels effect how much a borrower can borrow and may restrict their preapproved loan amount.
As you know, some lenders have experienced excessive FHA defaults recently and have been required by HUD to raise their minimum credit scores or decrease their maximum debt-to-income ratios (or both).
Since I work with multiple lenders, I have a birds-eye view of who has been impacted by these HUD restrictions. I prefer to work with lenders that are NOT impacted by heavy defaults. Through these lenders I am able to offer increased buying power for homebuyers - YOUR HOMEBUYERS.
If you have a buyer that needs a little more home than their lender is willing to preapprove them for, please call me.
Home Loan Closing Costs
Ahead of the Curve
Gil's Mortgage Resource Letter
Gil Kerbashian
"Understanding Closing Costs"
-Processing Fee Estimate: $350
This fee is charged by us to pre-approve, pre-underwrite and make sure your
loan fits program guidelines prior to us submitting the loan to an underwriting
unit for full approval.
We will review all documents, submit your package, insure compliance, attend
closing and maintain support all the way to closing. Fee paid directly to us at
closing. This fee also
includes credit reports, approval certificates and document gathering expenses.
-Discount Points to Buydown Rate:
Normally not charged unless a buyer requests or needs to buydown an interest
rate in order to qualify for the loan.
-Appraisal Fee Paid Directly to Independent Appraisal Company Estimate:
$275-$450 Upfront Cost
This fee is paid directly to an independent appraiser to determine the maket
value of your property. The appraiser is chosen by a neutral third party and
you must pay this fee
at the start of the loan process once a property is determined.
Underwriting Fee Paid to Independent Undewriting Unit Estimate: $600-$800
This fee is paid by you directly to the loan underwriting entity at loan
closing. Once we have pre-underwritten your loan and we have determined the
best lender able to actually fund your loan, we submit it to them for review,
approval, legal documents and funding.
-Homeowners Insurance Paid to Your Insurance Company Estimate: $300-$600
Upfront Cost
You will contact your personal insurance provider two weeks prior to your
closing date to determine the cost of a homeowners insurance policy. This will
be paid in advance of closing directly by you to the company you have picked. A
one year policy must be paid for in advance of closing. If the property is in a
flood zone, you will also be required to get flood insurance also.
-Mortgage Interest Payment at Closing Estimate: Depends on closing date.
Depending on the day you close, you will pay for the days of homeownership from
the day of closing to the last day of the month. Example: if you close on the
15th of the month
you will pay from the 15th to the last day of the month for each day you own
the home.
-Tax Escrow Paid Directly to Lender Estimated: Monthly property taxes times two
Most loans require borrowers to have the lender pay the property taxes on
behalf of the buyer. Unless you are putting in 10-20% downpayment, expect to
"escrow" for taxes. Lenders typically require a 2 month cushion placed into an
escrow account. Ex: $500x2=$1000
-Homeowners Insurance Escrow Paid Directly to Lender Estimated: $60-$120
Like taxes above, lenders will want to pay for your homeowners insurance when
it comes due. Most lenders will require a 2 month cushion placed into your
escrow account at closing.
-Settlement Costs- Closing Attorney, Title Insurance, Closing Company, County
Recording Fees Paid Directly to Providers Pre-Chosen by Others Estimate:
$1500-$2500
These are standard fees required to purchase a home. Refinances are much lower.
These fees are not chosen by us but rather chosen by your attorney or the
sellers attorney.
-Home Purchase Transfer Tax Stamps Estimated:
Call your city to see if buyers pay these Most common in the city of Chicago
and a few others. Not all cities or villages charge buyers a transfer stamp
tax. Usually a sellers expense. Can be expensive for buyers are charged.
**** In a home purchase transaction you may have the Seller of the Property pay
for some, most, or possibly all of the above expenses. This is called a "Seller
Paid Closing Contribution". This is highly recommended if you are short on
funds to close or currently only have your downpayment and no other funds
available.
If the Seller picks up your closing costs, any monies you pay up front other
than the home inspection (ie appraisal and homeowners insurance up front) will
be applied to your downpayment commitment.
Please call with questions
Tired of waiting for loan approvals? Worried if your home buyer will qualify?
Deal getting messed up at the bank and you want to move the file? I offer 24-48
hour full underwriting on FHA and Conventional home purchase transactions.
Think SERVICE From a committed purchase money specialist!
Industry Updates:
JULY 1st, now implemented: Fannie Mae's loan quality initiative is starting to
be implemented. 2nd underwriting signatures called for on some files prior to
funding, 2nd credit reports pulled prior to funding on all loans. CTC's may not
come until just prior to close. You may get conditions on files just days
before close. BE PREPARED.
FinReg looks to change the landscape of mortgage lending. Banks will be severly
impacted by the new regs causing delays while implementation occurs. Call me if
you need a bank alternative delivered with great service.
SAFE national mortgage act tests and background checks are now starting for
mortgage loan officers. Low credit scores, judgements, bankruptcies and other
character issues will be a factor going forward. Start working with a
responsible loan officer today!
The House has passed FHA reform legislation and MI Premiums look like they are
going up substantially (Senate to determine). Notify your homebuyers today-
dragging their feet to make an offer could get more expensive real soon!
$8,000 homebuyer tax credit extended until 2011 for Service Personnel working
overseas. Take advantage of VA 100% financing for veterans returning from Iraq
in August. No news as of yet about the extension on todays deadline.
Please don't hesitate to call if I can help.
Gil Kerbashian
Mortgage Lending Since 1997
Gil's Loan Pre-Approval and Funding Hotline: (847) 873-7295
Northwest Mortgage Services, Inc
7808 Virginia Road, Crystal Lake Il
FHA 203KS FORMS
"We wrote an offer on a foreclosure and the appraiser called out repairs including a new Roof. The borrowers bank wouldn't do the loan. Another agent in the office recommended Gil Kerbashian. Gil was amazing. He returned my calls quickly, explained the loan program well, pre-approved my clients the same day and we CLOSED on a home that the bank said couldn't be done." Melissa Ross, Remax Professionals
The FHA 203K (ks) home loan program helps homebuyers finance up to an additional $35-45,000 (includes EEM, weatherization, contingency and rehab admin fees) into their mortgage to improve or upgrade the home before move-in or refinance repairs with some of the lowest rates available.
Thinking about energy efficiency items (EEM)? You can get an additional $8,000 for your energy efficiency improvements, bringing your total rehab dollars to $43,000 including contingency reserves. I might even be able to get you an extra $2000 if you wanted to insulate or caulk the home for additional energy efficiency.
This terrific home loan product helps homebuyers and homeowners quickly and easily tap into affordable mortgage money to pay for property repairs or improvements, such as those identified by a home inspector or FHA appraiser during a foreclosure sale ("as is" sales are so popular these days).
Don't let an old roof, mold or missing plumbing or HVAC, damaged appliances or fixtures stop you from buying a home.
The current market offers a lot of attractive home purchase opportunities right now but many buyers do not have the required money to fix up these homes after purchase. The FHA 203ks is the perfect loan for this purpose.
I'm here to help you obtain this loan and structure the transaction properly. It should not be difficult and with my expertise, you'll be comfortable with the process of fixing up your dream home! Be detailed, give yourself an extra 30 days to close and we'll get it done together.
Below you'll find some important links that you'll need for the 203ks process. All you have to do is take a look and drop me a line for the remainder of the forms required for your contractor. I've done the ground work to organize them for you. Most of the forms are straightforward.
ALL FORMS NEED TO BE FAXED OR EMAILED DIRECTLY TO ME FOR REVIEW. I WILL FORWARD THEM TO THE UNDERWRITER AFTER REVIEWED.
Please make sure the property is prepped for the appraiser: utilities on and property cleared of debree.
Please call me if you need any assistance.
Overview about the program: http://www.203kspro.com/
Please use the following Excel Spreadsheet for contractors to submit all bids on: www.realestateloans.com/203ksbidform.xls
Borrower, Contractor, Lender agreements: Call me for updated forms (847) 873-7295.
Initial draw request for up to 50% of initial expense towards materials only. All contractors are paid the final draw when all work is completed in total by all contractors.
Real estate agents, please write up your contracts as any other- you don't need any special addendums or forms. Please let the sellers know that this is a 203ks loan and will require an additional 30 days to close.
Borrowers: please submit all of the above items at one time up front. Utilize a high quality licensed and insured contractor in order to complete the bids correctly and with detail. Any missing items will cause a delay for YOU. Work with high integrity professionals.
Thank you.
PLEASE SUBMIT ALL AGREEMENTS AND FORMS DIRECTLY TO GIL KERBASHIAN FOR INITIAL REVIEW
FHA FHA LOAN MORTGAGES MORTGAGE BROKERS MORTGAGE RATES REFINANCE
REFINANCING HOME LOANS MORTGAGE BROKER MORTGAGE REFINANCE MORTGAGE LOAN
INTEREST RATES HOME EQUITY LOANS NEW HOME LOAN HOME LOAN RATES HOME MORTGAGE LOAN
LOANS COMMERCIAL LOANS LENDERS HUD FEDERAL HOUSING AGENCY FANNIE MAE FREDDIE MAC CRYSTAL LAKE SCHAUMBURG PALATINE CHICAGO ARLINGTON HEIGHTS INTEGRA MORTGAGE IAMP BANK OF AMERICA WELLS FARGO MORTGAGE DISCOUNT MORTGAGE RATES WHOLESALE LENDING LOWEST MORTGAGE RATES 60613 60013 60193 CHICAGOLAND 203KS 203K REHAB WISCONSIN REMAX COLDWELL BANKER REALTY EXECUTIVES PRUDENTIAL KELLER WILLIAMS
I need to make a home loan application - help!
Home Loan Purchase Process Video:
"When discussing the loan process with homebuyers, I stress that they must be completely candid with their loan officer, be incredibly detailed and provide as much documention as they can. This is the new norm for home loan approvals". David Stevens -FHA
IMPORTANT OVERVIEW:
In the next few days or weeks you'll be looking at a handful of homes. One will catch your eye and you want to be completely prepared to make a strong offer. Most sellers give higher priority to buyers who have secured a full Home Loan Preapproval Letter over those other homebuyers that have only been "prequalified" over the phone. A full preapproval review with assets, income and liabilties verification is the highest level of preparedness. The application process below is oriented toward a successful full preapproval. How much of a committment would you ask for if you were lending someone $100,000, $300,000 or $500,000?
At the bottom of this letter you will find an internet link to a basic home loan application and credit authorization. Please click on it after you've read this overview. And please, always call if you have any questions while reading over and completing the forms or at any other time. I enjoy helping my customers and look forward to helping you, your friends, co-workers and family. Your referrals are always appreciated.
-
PLEASE DO NOT MOVE ANY MONEY AROUND UNTIL YOUR LOAN CLOSES. If a bank verification shows a recent increase in your accounts an explanation of the increase will be required and may cause delays. No "cash, non-payroll or matress money" should be introduced into any part of the transaction without a prior discussion.
-
Postpone ANY LARGE PURCHASES until after your loan closes. If a re-verification of credit JUST PRIOR TO CLOSE shows you have recently increased credit balances it could jeopardize your loan approval.
-
Notify me immediately in the event of a job change.
-
Don't take any Cash Advances on your credit card(s) or personal loans.
-
Don't allow any additional inquiries (credit checks) on your credit report.
-
Do not open or close any credit or bank accounts.
-
Continue to make ALL of your payments as agreed.
-
Quickly return all documents from the lender or closing company. You will be mailed papers from time to time, send all received documents that you receive in the mail regarding the loan to me for immediate review.
-
Your loan will be underwritten to nationally accepted mortgage guidelines. The investor is lending a great deal of money, please don't "self-underwrite" your loan. Be prepared to offer all paperwork that is asked of you all the way to the day of close. A lot of money and trust is being conveyed to you- please don't take the loan or process for granted. Gathering paperwork is a good deal for all the funds you will be receiving.
- Once a contract has been accepted your mortgage rate and terms need to be locked. You must email or call me directly after the accepted contract to discuss where rates have settled on this day. If you don't call, I may lock your terms the day I receive the fully executed contract at then market rates.
- Please send me a copy of your purchase contract earnest money check front and back showing the check processed through the bank along with the official bank statements showing the earnest money deposit taken out as soon as it becomes available.
- PLEASE SEND OFFICIAL BANK STATEMENTS FOR ALL NUMBERED PAGES EVEN IF THE PAGES ARE BLANK. ANY ITEMS SUCH FAXED SHOULD BE LEGIBLE. PLEASE SEND ITEMS AS QUICKLY AS YOU CAN.
Be mindful that lenders conduct quality control checks -calling to verify your employment or savings. Are you receiving down payment assistance from an outside source? Please be prepared to document all non-payroll deposits. If the source is a gift from a close relation, you'll need: 1) Gift letter, 2) donors bank statement, 3) copy of the original gift check made out to you, 4) copy of deposit slip going into your account, 5) bank statement to show the deposit was captured to your account, 6) copy of the gift check post deposit front and back from donor showing it went through the bank processing center and 7) copy of the donors bank statement showing the gift check clearing. Different underwriters may differ in their requests, please be prepared to fully document non-payroll deposits, monitary gifts and outside downpayment funds. NO "cash/matress money" or loans for closing funds.
Two weeks prior to closing you will want to call your homeowners insurance agent if any insurance coverage is needed and pay for a full policy and have the insurance company fax the policy to me (cost credited to you at closing).
Stay flexible in your closing timeline in case closing is delayed.
Once the purchase contract is accepted by the seller we will need to order a property appraisal. Appraisals require payment directly to the appraisal company in advance. The cost of the appraisal will be credited to you at closing.
After all the above procedural stuff, what really matters is... The season to enjoy your own home is coming and what a wonderful time to make the transition!!!
Your referrals are valuable. Do you know any friends, family and co-workers that can also use my services now? Can you email this article?
Cordially Yours, Gil Kerbashian
(847) 873-7295
Fax: (847) 770-4850
The loan application has a very important list of items at the bottom that I will need to gather in order to issue strong preapproval. Always call if you have any questions. Once you print the application, you can complete it, fax it or we can meet quickly to go over it together and make sure you feel comfortable with the process.
One Page Loan Application: www.realestateloans.com/gilsapp.pdf
FHA AND CONVENTIONAL HOME LOAN Closing cost basics for Illinois: www.realestateloans.com/gfe.pdf
2010 FHA Condominium Guideline Revisions and Updates
CONDOMINIUM PROJECT APPROVAL
I. Approval Processing Options
A. Lenders will have two condominium project approval processing options. The applicable documentation requirements will be the same for each option:
1. HUD Review and Approval Process (HRAP).
2. Direct Endorsement Lender Review and Approval Process (DELRAP), outlined in this Mortgagee Letter. This option is only available to lenders who have unconditional Direct Endorsement authority and staff with knowledge and expertise in reviewing and approving condominium projects.
Under DELRAP, lenders must provide the condominium approval or denial documents to FHA within five (5) business days of final disposition. These documents must be uploaded using pdf format through FHA Connection. 2
B. The processing options stated above will be applicable to condominium developments that are:
1. Proposed or Under Construction;
2. Existing Construction; or
3. Conversions.
C. Lenders who are eligible to and do process condominium approvals under DELRAP may exercise the option, at their discretion, to submit a condominium project for approval under the HRAP.
II. Eligible Projects
The Condominium Project has been declared and exists in full compliance with applicable State law requirements of the jurisdiction in which the condominium project is located, and with all other applicable laws and regulations.
III. Ineligible Projects
A. Condominium Hotel or "Condotels"
B. Timeshares or segmented ownership projects
C. Houseboat projects
E. All projects not deemed to be used primarily as residential
F. Those that do not meet prescribed minimum standards
IV. General Requirements
A. Site Condominiums (effective June 12, 2009)
• Modular homes are processed as single family homes for insurance purposes and are eligible to be treated as Site Condominiums as long as they meet the stated definition for site condominiums.
B. Environmental Review Requirements
If a lender elects to use the HRAP option, then environmental reviews will not be required for projects that, at the time that condominium project approval is requested, have progressed beyond a stage of construction where HUD has any influence over the remaining uncompleted construction. This occurs when:
Environmental reviews will not be required for condominium projects approved using the DELRAP option. If the appraiser identifies an environmental condition or the lender is aware of an existing environmental condition through remarks provided on the Builder’s Certification, Form HUD-92541, the appraisal or other known documentation, the lender must avoid or determine that there are mitigants to address the following conditions before completing its review process:
1. The project is located in a Special Flood Hazard Area designated on a Federal Emergency Management Agency flood map.
2. Potential noise issues, where the property is located within 1000 feet of a highway, freeway, or heavily traveled road, within 3000 feet of a railroad, or within one mile of an airport or five miles of a military airfield.
3. The property has an unobstructed view, or is located within 2000 feet, of any facility handling or storing explosive or fire-prone materials.
4. The property is located within 3000 feet of a dump or landfill, or of a site on an EPA Superfund (NPL) list or equivalent state list, or a Phase I Environmental Site Assessment indicates the presence of a Recognized Environmental Condition or recommends further (Phase II) assessment for the presence of contaminants that could affect the site.
5. The property has any hazards or adverse conditions listed in Section 1.f. of the Builder’s Certification, including, but not limited to, high ground water levels, unstable soils, or earth fill.
6. The project is located in a wetland designated on National Wetlands Inventory maps or designated by State or local authorities.
7. The project is on the National Register of Historic Places or is within a historic district listed on the Register.
8. The appraiser or DE lender is aware of any other condition that could adversely affect the health or safety of the residents of the project.
V. Project Eligibility Requirements
The following requirements apply to all Condominium Project approvals:
1. Minimum number of units: Projects must consist of two or more units.
3. Right of First Refusal: Right of first refusal is permitted unless it violates discriminatory conduct under the Fair Housing Act regulation at 24 CFR part100.
5. Investor Ownership: No more than 10 percent of the units may be owned by one investor. This limitation also applies to developers/builders that subsequently rent vacant and unsold units. For condominium projects with ten or fewer units, no single entity may own more than one unit within the project; all units, common elements, and facilities within the project must be 100 percent complete.
7. Pre-sales: At least 50 percent of the total units must be sold prior to endorsement of a mortgage on any unit. Valid presales include:
• Information from a developer/builder that lists all of the units already sold, under contract, or closed (e.g. a spreadsheet, chart, or listing used for the company’s own tracking purposes) that is accompanied by a signed certification from the developer (Attachment F).
1 Secondary residences can only be included if it meets the requirements of 24 CFR 203.18(f)(2). 5
8. Owner-occupancy Ratios: At least 50 percent of the units of a project must be owner-occupied or sold to owners who intend to occupy the units.2 For proposed, under construction or projects still in their initial marketing phase, FHA will allow a minimum owner occupancy amount equal to 50 percent of the number of presold units (the minimum presales requirement of 50 percent still applies).
2 Units sold to owners who intend to occupy the units must follow the requirements of a valid presale.
For vertical buildings, legal phasing is acceptable if:
a. The floors are legally phased in groupings of no less than five floors;
b. At least a temporary certificate of occupancy has been obtained and all common areas and amenities have been completed; AND
c. A third party completion bond has been obtained.
For purposes of calculating the owner-occupancy percentage and FHA concentration:
a. On multi-phased projects the owner-occupancy percentage is calculated on the first declared phase and cumulatively on subsequent phases if the ownership of the condominium project remains the same.
b. If multi-phasing includes separate ownership per phase, each phase is calculated individually.
c. In single-phase condominium project approval requests, all units are used in the denominator when calculating the 50 percent owner-occupancy percentage.
approved condominium development on the approved condominium listing, which
can be found on both FHA Connection and on the public website at www.hud.gov.
The concentration level will be based on case numbers assigned on units in a
project; FHA will not issue new case numbers once the 30 percent concentration
level (plus a small tolerance to accommodate for some fall-out) has been reached in
any particular development.
a. Projects consisting of three or fewer units will have no more than one unit encumbered with FHA insurance.
b. Projects consisting of four or more units will have no more than 30 percent of the total units encumbered with FHA insurance.
c. Calculation of the level of FHA concentration in a project declared with legal phases will follow the same methodology as owner-occupancy, described above.
11. Budget Review: Mortgagees must review the homeowners’ association budget (the actual budget for established projects or the projected budget for new projects) for all projects. This review must determine that the budget is adequate and:
• Includes allocations/line items to ensure sufficient funds are available to maintain and preserve all amenities and features unique to the condominium project;
• Provides for the funding of replacement reserves for capital expenditures and deferred maintenance in an account representing at least 10% of the budget; and
• Provides adequate funding for insurance coverage and deductibles (see Section VI, Insurance Requirements).
In cases where the budget documents do not meet these standards, the mortgagee may request a reserve study to assess the financial stability of the project. The reserve study cannot be more than 12 months old. When reviewing the reserve study, consideration must be given to items that have been replaced after the time that the reserve study was completed.
In lieu of the actual budget documents, mortgagees may request and rely on Fannie Mae form 1073a, Analysis of Annual Income and Expenses – Operating Budget, executed by an authorized representative of the seller/servicer, owners association, or management agent.
VI. Insurance Requirements
A. The condominium project must be covered by hazard, flood, liability and other insurance required by state or local condominium laws or acceptable to FHA as defined below:
• Hazard Insurance: The homeowners association (HOA) is required to maintain adequate "master or blanket" property insurance in an amount equal to 100% of current replacement cost of the condominium exclusive of land, foundation, excavation and other items normally excluded from coverage. If the HOA does not maintain 100% coverage, the unit owner may not obtain "gap" coverage to meet this requirement.
• HO-6 Coverage: In cases where the master policy does not include interior unit coverage, including replacement of interior improvements and betterment coverage to insure improvements that the borrower may have made to the unit, the borrower must obtain a "walls-in" coverage policy (HO-6 policy).
• Liability Insurance: The HOA is required to maintain comprehensive general liability insurance covering all of the common elements, commercial space owned and leased by the owner’s association, and public ways of the condominium project.
• Fidelity Bond/Fidelity Insurance: Fidelity Bond/Fidelity Insurance is required for new and established condominium projects with 20 or more units. The HOA must maintain this insurance for all officers, directors, and employees of the association and all other persons handling or responsible for funds administered by the association. The coverage must be no less than a sum equal to three months aggregate assessments on all units plus reserve funds.
• Flood Insurance: Insurance coverage equal to the replacement cost of the project less land costs or up to the National Flood Insurance Program (NFIP) standard of $250,000 per unit, whichever is less. In the insuring of a residential condominium building in a regular program community, the maximum limit of building coverage is $250,000 times the number of units in the building (not to exceed the building’s replacement cost). The HOA, not the borrower or individual unit owner, is responsible for obtaining and maintaining adequate flood insurance under the NFIP on buildings located in a Special Flood Hazard Area (SFHA). The flood insurance coverage must protect the interest of borrowers who hold title to an individual unit as well as the common areas of the condominium project. If the FHA Roster Appraiser reports that buildings in a condominium project are located in a SFHA the lender is responsible for ensuring that the HOA obtains and maintains adequate flood insurance on buildings located within the SFHA, per Mortgagee Letter 2009-37.
B. Determining Need for Flood Insurance
Mortgagees must determine whether the property improvements (dwelling and related structures/equipment essential to the value of the property and subject to flood damage) are located in a 100-year flood plain. If the property is in a 100-year flood plain, flood insurance is required, per Mortgagee Letter 2009-37. To demonstrate and document that the property is not located in a 100-year flood plain and not subject to flood insurance requirements, the mortgagee must obtain:
• A final Letter of Map Amendment (LOMA) or
• A final Letter of Map Revision (LOMR)
VII. Manufactured Housing Condominium Projects (MHCP)
(effective June 12, 2009)
See Loan Approval section for appraisal reporting requirements. 8
VIII. Condominium Conversions
Conversion to condominiums occurs in those projects which involve changing the title of an existing structure generally under one title, to property that is separated into units so that the title to most units can be held separately. Changes to condominium conversion requirements are defined below:
1. The one-year waiting period requirement for conversions is eliminated;
2. In the event that FHA is insuring a mortgage on a unit and an undivided interest in the common elements on a project undergoing remodeling or rehabilitation, the entire condominium project, including the common facilities, must be 100 percent completely built before any mortgage may be endorsed. Escrow provisions will be permitted for weather related delays for common areas only.
3. Conversions of properties from non-residential or from rental, whether tenant- occupied or vacant, will be treated as new construction.
IX. Condominium New Construction Pre-approval and Inspection Requirements
This Mortgagee Letter now permits condominium processing consistent with guidance described in Mortgagee Letter 2001-27.
A. In cases where a building permit and a certificate of occupancy (or its equivalent) are issued by a local jurisdiction that performs a minimum of three inspections (typically the footing, framing and final) neither an Early Start Letter nor a HUD approved ten-year warranty plan is required. For those jurisdictions that do not issue a building permit (or its equivalent) prior to construction and a Certificate of Occupancy (or its equivalent) upon completion of construction, a condominium unit that is one year old or less must have either an Early Start Letter (with a minimum of three inspections by an FHA Roster Inspector) or be covered by a HUD-approved ten-year warranty plan (with a final inspection by a FHA Roster Inspector) to be eligible for high-ratio mortgage insurance. Projects are still required to be on the FHA-approved condominium list.
B. FHA will require the completion and retention of the following documents when processing new construction condominium project approvals:
• Builder’s Certification of Plans, Specifications and Site, form HUD-92541
• Builder’s Warranty, form HUD-92544
• Building Permit (or its equivalent)
• Final Certificate of Occupancy (or its equivalent)
C. FHA will accept a temporary/conditional Certificate of Occupancy for new construction and conversions that require substantial rehabilitation under the following circumstances:
• All common areas and amenities for the project must be completed.
• The temporary/conditional Certificate of Occupancy that was issued clearly indicates that the unit is habitable and eligible for immediate occupancy.
• The jurisdiction that is issuing the temporary/conditional Certificates of Occupancy has in place a standard protocol whereby permanent certificates are issued and maintained.
X. General Processing Steps for DELRAP or HRAP
B. Review the project’s financial and legal documents; if acceptable, authorized personnel will sign and date the Lender Certification of Condominium Requirements (Attachment B).
• While FHA expects lenders to submit recorded documents with the condominium project approval package, unrecorded properly executed documents are acceptable in the initial request for project approval.
• Unrecorded documents for conversions will be acceptable if the conversion was a non-occupied rental building (i.e., warehouse or vacant building converted to a condominium regime) that meets all applicable requirements.
• Whenever unrecorded documents are submitted, the lender (for HRAP), DELRAP lender or builder/developer must provide a certification with the final recorded documents and description of any changes from original unrecorded documents.
C. Determine the project’s budget is adequate or meets the alternative standards in Project Approval Section, V, 11.
D. Retain and maintain all documents used to review and approve the project for a period of three years from the date of project approval.
E. If a project is listed as Rejected or Withdrawn on the FHA-approved condominium list, the project will not be eligible for reconsideration unless the request meets the following:
• Project was rejected or withdrawn < 12 months: new/additional information may be submitted to HUD for reconsideration only under HRAP processing based on the rejection or withdrawal date;
• Project was rejected or withdrawn > 12 months: new/additional information may be submitted to HUD for processing under HRAP or may be considered by the lender (and ultimately transmitted to HUD) in the case of projects undergoing DELRAP review.
NOTE: If a project is no longer approved or does not meet approval criteria, then only a FHA-to-FHA streamline refinance without an appraisal is allowed. 10
F. Second and subsequent lenders that submit a unit for insurance in a project that is listed on the FHA-approved condominium list are not required to complete any further approval process. However, as part of loan-level review, FHA will require the lender to certify (Attachment C) it has no knowledge of circumstances or conditions that might have an adverse effect on the project or cause a mortgage secured by a unit in the project to become delinquent. FHA will also require the lender to certify (Attachment C) that it has reviewed and verified the condominium project’s continued compliance with the initial approval requirements regarding investor ownership, percentage of owners in arrears for condominium association fees, owner-occupancy rate and FHA loan concentration rate, and the lender certifies (Attachment C) that the condominium project continues to comply with FHA requirements.
G. Subsequent phases being approved by a different lender must follow the general procedures listed under this Section of the ML. The original lender must also follow these general procedures but will have already satisfied some of the steps listed.
H. All required certifications, as applicable, must be included in the FHA case binder submitted for insurance endorsement.
I. For both new construction and conversions the developer should complete form HUD-92541, Builder’s Certification of Plans, Specification and Site. If the developer/builder intends to market five or more units within the next 12 months with FHA mortgage insurance and block 11"a, b, c, or d" is not checked, the developer/builder is required to complete Form HUD-935.2C, Affirmative Fair Housing Marketing Plan – Condominium or Cooperatives. This completed form must be submitted to the Director of the Processing and Underwriting Division in the jurisdictional HOC for approval (prior to project approval).
K. Transfer of control of the Homeowners Association shall pass to the unit owners within the project no later than the latest of the following:
1. 120 days after the date by which 75 percent of the units have been conveyed to the unit purchasers;
2. Three years after completion of the project evidenced by the first conveyance to a unit purchaser; OR
3. The time frame established under state or local condominium laws if specific provisions regarding transfer of control exist.
11
XI. Certification for Initial Project Approval
A. Lender Certification
Lenders must provide certifications on company letterhead signed by a company authorized representative (signature stamps or electronic signatures are not authorized) that:
1. The eligible condominium project complies with applicable FHA requirements addressed within this ML;
2. All condominium legal documents meet HUD regulations, state and local condominium laws; and
3. Pre-sale, owner occupancy and FHA concentration ratios are met.
B. Developer Certification
The developer/builder must provide a certification (Attachment E) on company letterhead signed and dated by an authorized representative of the developer/builder (signature stamps or electronic signatures are not authorized) which states that:
1. The eligible condominium project complies with all applicable FHA requirements addressed in this ML; and
2. All condominium documents meet all HUD requirements, and state and local requirements.
NOTE: FHA will not require an attorney's certification. However, lenders and developers/builders may obtain this as part of their own due diligence process. Lenders as well as developers/builders are reminded that this document will not replace other required condominium certifications they are required to execute (e.g., Applicable Appendices B, C, E and F of this Mortgagee Letter).
XII. Recertification of Project Approvals
Condominium Project approvals will expire two years from the date of placement on the list of approved condominiums. Further participation in the program after this two-year period has expired will require recertification to determine that the project is still in compliance with HUD’s owner-occupancy requirement and that no conditions currently exist which would present an unacceptable risk to FHA. Items that must be given consideration are:
1. Pending special assessments,
2. Pending legal action against the condominium association, or its officers or directors, and
3. Adequate hazard, liability insurance, and when applicable, flood insurance coverage.
12
LOAN APPROVAL
I. Mortgage Insurance for Individual Unit Financing
All applicable, outstanding and any additional FHA mortgage insurance requirements not defined in this ML must be satisfied for individual units.
II. Recordation of Documents
If unrecorded documents were submitted along with other required documentation for initial project approval, no loan can be insured in the project until the recorded documents are received and the applicable approval data updated.
III. Insurance Requirements
A. Hazard Insurance
For Home Equity Conversion Mortgages (reverse mortgages), the borrower must obtain and maintain hazard insurance equal to the value of insurable property improvements, per Handbook 4235, REV 1, Chapter 6.
B. Flood Insurance
For both forward and reverse mortgages, lenders must ensure that the Homeowners Association (HOA), not the individual owner, obtains and maintains adequate flood insurance under the National Flood Insurance Program on buildings located within a Special Flood Hazard Area. The insurance coverage must protect the interest of borrowers who hold title to an individual unit as well as the common areas. See Section VI, Insurance Requirements.
IV. Certifications
If a project has been previously approved, the lender must certify that it has reviewed and verified the condominium project’s continued compliance with the initial approval requirements regarding investor ownership, percentage of owners in arrears for condominium association fees, owner-occupancy rate and FHA loan concentration rate, and the Lender certifies that the condominium project continues to comply with FHA requirements. 13
V. FHA-to-FHA Transactions
Project Approval is not required for:
a. FHA-to-FHA streamline refinance transactions or
b. FHA/HUD Real Estate Owned (REO).
VI. Site Condominiums
Although processed as Section 203(b) loans, the applicable ADP codes for Site Condominiums are 731 (Adjustable Rate Mortgages) and 734.
Appraisal data is collected and reported on Fannie Mae form 1004, in accordance with the Valuation Protocols, Appendix D of HUD Handbook 4150.2.
The Condominium Rider (Attachment D) must be included in the FHA case binder submitted for insurance endorsement.
VII. Manufactured Housing Condominium
The appraisal reporting requirements for condominium manufactured homes are:
1. Appraisal must be reported on the Manufactured Home Appraisal Report (Fannie Mae Form 1004C).
2. Subject condominium project must be inspected and the Project Information section of the Individual Condominium Unit Appraisal Report (Fannie Mae Form 1073) must be completed and included as an addendum to the appraisal report.
3. Comparable sales must be condominium manufactured homes. Detailed explanations must be provided when search parameters are expanded due to the lack of comparable sales in subject market area.
VIII. "Spot Loan" Approval Process
The Spot Loan Approval Process as defined in Mortgage Letter 1996-41 is eliminated. The DELRAP and HRAP have been streamlined to allow for uncomplicated condominium project approvals eliminating the need to approve units on a "spot loan" basis. 14
LIABILITIES AND MONITORING
I. Mortgagee Liability
Mortgagees who issue condominium project approvals using the DELRAP process are responsible for material deficiencies associated with the project approval and any loan they originate and/or underwrite using the applicable project approval.
Mortgagees who rely upon a condominium project approval issued by another mortgagee are responsible for the loan level certification (Attachment C). With this certification, the lender is confirming that the company has no knowledge of circumstances or conditions that might have an adverse effect on the project or cause a mortgage secured by a unit in the project to become delinquent. The lender is also certifying that it has reviewed and verified the condominium project’s continued compliance with the initial approval requirements regarding investor ownership, percentage of owners in arrears for condominium association fees, owner-occupancy rate and FHA loan concentration rate, and it certifies that the condominium project continues to comply with FHA requirements.
II. Quality Assurance
Monitoring the condominium approval process is critical to the success of the program. Lenders who approve condominium projects utilizing the DELRAP option will be required to submit a copy of the complete condominium project approval package to the applicable Homeownership Center within five (5) business days of approval. Lenders are required to submit the first five DELRAP approvals for review. Further, to manage FHA’s risk, and ensure compliance with all condominium project policy requirements, additional condominium project approvals will be selected for review. The criteria for selection of the additional approvals will be determined and lenders will be notified in future guidance.
III. False Certifications
Title 18 U.S.C. 1014, provides in part that whoever knowingly and willfully makes or uses a document containing any false, fictitious, or fraudulent statement or entry, in any matter in the jurisdiction of any department or agency of the United States, shall be fined not more than $1,000,000 or imprisoned for not more than 30 years or both. In addition, violation of this or others may result in debarment and civil liability for damages suffered by the Department. 15
TRANSITION STRATEGY
FHA will move all currently approved condominium projects to the new approval list and FHA Connection database. The following requirements are applicable based on the date of the initial project approval. Additional guidance on new data entry requirements will be issued in a separate ML.
• Projects that received approval prior to October 1, 2008, will require recertification on or before December 7, 2010.
• Projects that received approval between October 1, 2008 through December 7, 2009, will follow the recertification requirements defined in the Project Approval Section, XIII.
Recertification of approved condominium projects may be processed by HUD using HRAP or by a mortgagee under DELRAP. The DELRAP option is only available to lenders who have unconditional Direct Endorsement authority and staff with knowledge and expertise in reviewing and approving condominium projects.
If you have questions regarding this Mortgagee Letter, please call the FHA’s Resource Center at 1-800-CALL-FHA (1-800-225-5342). Persons with hearing or speech impairments may access this number via TDD/TTY by calling 1-877-TDD-2HUD (1-877-833-2483).
Sincerely,
David H. Stevens
Assistant Secretary for Housing-
Federal Housing Commissioner
Attachments 16
|
Attachment A Condominium Project Approval Matrix |
|||||||||
|
Proposed/UC |
Existing |
Conversion |
|||||||
|
1 |
All Condominium Legal Documents |
x |
x |
x |
|||||
|
a |
Recorded Plat Map indicating Legal Description |
x |
x |
x |
|||||
|
b |
Recorded Covenants, Conditions and Restrictions (CC&R’s) |
x |
x |
x |
|||||
|
c |
Signed and Adopted Bylaws |
x |
x |
x |
|||||
|
d |
Articles of Incorporation filed with th |
||||||||
Freddie Mac Important Internet Links
Freddie Mac Email Subscriptions
http://www.freddiemac.com/news/alerts/newscenteremail.html
Choose the Freddie Mac Bulletins, Announcements
and Publications you would like to receive notifications
of via email
Freddie Mac Forms & Guide Access
http://www.freddiemac.com/sell/guide/
Access Freddie’s Single Family Selling & Servicing
Guides as well as forms
Freddie Mac Learning Center
http://www.freddiemac.com/learn/
This website includes links to Quick Reference
Summary Charts on LP, Condominiums, Residency
and Citizenship, Various products, LTV/CLTV/HLTVs,
Refinances, New Construction, Income/Assets,
Collateral., Credit, and Super Conforming- just to name
a few!
Single Family Mortgage Products Page
http://www.freddiemac.com/singlefamily/mortgages/
This website includes links to Product Summaries,
Overviews, Marketing Materials, Affordable Income &
Property Eligibility Lookup Tool, FAQs, Links to live
product training opportunities and much more!
Training Events Page
http://www.freddiemac.com/learn/edu/train/
This page provides links to Live and Web Training
Events on LP, Underwriting, Product, Selling, Servicing
and Delivery-Related topics.
Loan Prospector Main Page
http://www.loanprospector.com/
This is the home page for all things LP! Features,
Benefits, documentation requirements, products, credit
report vendors, LOS vendors, news & highlights, best
practices, as well as login access to LP itself!
Loan Prospector Functionality Page
http://www.freddiemac.com/learn/uw/
This page provides resources and training associated
with documentation and underwriting-related topics
Loan Prospector Helpful Tips & Best Practices
http://www.loanprospector.com/getthemost/bp.html
This page provides links to guides that are very
detailed and well-written for originators, processors,
underwriters and quality control functions within an
organization. These are great reads for everyone!
Loan Prospector Training Page
http://www.loanprospector.com/learn/index.html
This page provides links to recorded training sessions
divided out by topic and category. These short
sessions are excellent educational resources that new
and even experienced LP users can benefit from!
Fraud & Quality Control
http://www.freddiemac.com/learn/uw/qc.html
This page provides links to Quick References
regarding predatory lending, property flips, appraisal
underwriting, documenting citizenship and residency,
rental income, standard income, Freddie’s
Exclusionary List, and standard quality control best
practices
Freddie Mac Homebuyer/Homeownership Page
http://www.freddiemac.com/corporate/buying_and_owning.html
This page includes various resources, tools and
information for both homebuyers and homeowners
Freddie Mac Loan Look-Up
https://ww3.freddiemac.com/corporate/
Determine if Freddie Mac currently services your own
or your borrower’s existing mortgage
Freddie Mac Marketing Kits & Materials
http://www.freddiemac.com/singlefamily/kits.html
Freddie offers excellent marketing materials in the form
of fillable flyers, mailers, post cards, door hangers,
brochures, and stuffers and some are even offered in
languages in addition to English! These are some of
the most professional-looking materials out there! Very
easy to sign up for access and easy to use!
Loan Program Changes
Debt to Income Ratio: Many FHA lenders will soon be or have started in the last few weeks introducing their own maximum debt to income ratios limits. This DTI limit resembles the same one Fannie/Freddie implemented in December. Please double check your buyer pre-approvals.
FHA HVCC: Feb 15. Appraisals for all FHA case numbers assigned to a property transaction on or after this day will require the appraisal to be ordered through an Appraisal Management Company (AMC). Same as conventional loans, FHA will require a neutral third party to "manage" the appraisal order process.
PURCHASE TAX INCENTIVE TIMELINE WARNING: April 30th is the last day for inked contracts. If you now have buyers/borrowers that are still waiting to make an offer, please let them know that they are shooting themselves in the foot. As the deadline nears, underwriting turn times will slow down substantially. If your buyers property shows an appraisal or inspection concern in the last few weeks of April, what time does it give you or the home buyer to correct the deficiency or start looking for another property? DON'T PROCRASTINATE!
IHDA: Down payment assistance program seminar at McHenry County Association of Realtors open to all. Feb 24th 10am. Call now to reserve your seat. Seating is limited. MCHCAR: 815.893.5100
Home Buyer Fliers
Understand Home Buyer Closing Costs
Processing Fee Estimate: $350
This fee is charged by us to pre-approve, pre-underwrite and make sure the home buyers loan fits program guidelines prior to us submitting the loan to an underwriting unit for full approval. We will review all documents, submit the package, insure compliance, attend closing and maintain support all the way to closing. Fee paid directly to us at closing. This fee also includes credit reports, approval certificates and document gathering expenses.
Discount Points to Buydown Rate:
Normally not charged unless a buyer requests or needs to buydown an interest rate in order to qualify for the loan.
Appraisal Fee Paid to Independent Appraisal Company Estimate: $275-$450 Upfront Cost
This fee is paid directly to an independent appraiser to determine the maket value of the property. The appraiser is chosen by a neutral third party and you must pay this fee at the start of the loan process once a property is determined.
Underwriting Fee Paid to Independent Undewriting Unit Estimate: $600-$800
This fee is paid by the home buyer directly to the loan underwriting entity at loan closing. Once we have pre-underwritten the loan and we have determined the best lender able to actually fund the loan, we submit it to them for review, approval, legal documents and funding.
Homeowners Insurance Paid to Your Insurance Company Estimate: $300-$600 Upfront Cost
The home buyer will contact their personal insurance provider two weeks prior to the closing date to determine the cost of a homeowners insurance policy. This will be paid in advance of closing directly by the home buyer to the company they have picked. A one year policy must be paid for in advance of closing. If the property is in a flood zone, the home buyer will also be required to get flood insurance also.
Mortgage Interest Payment at Closing Estimate: Depends on closing date.
Depending on the day of close, the home buyer will pay for the days of homeownership from the day of closing to the last day of the month. Example: if we close on the 15th of the month home buyer will pay from the 15th to the last day of the month for each day they own the home.
Homeowners Insurance Escrow Paid Directly to Lender Estimated: $60-$120
Like taxes above, lenders will want to pay for the homeowners insurance when it comes due. Most lenders will require a 2 month cushion placed into the escrow account at closing.
Fees Paid Directly to Providers Pre-Chosen by Others Estimate: $1500-$2500
These are standard fees required to purchase a home. Refinances are much lower. These fees are not chosen by us but rather chosen by the sellers attorney.
Home Purchase Transfer Tax Stamps Estimated: Call the city to see if buyers pay these
Most common in the city of Chicago and a few others. Not all cities or villages charge buyers a transfer stamp tax. Usually a sellers expense. Can be expensive for buyers if they are charged.
**** In a home purchase transaction the home buyer may have the Seller of the Property pay for some, most, or possibly all of the above expenses. This is called a "Seller Paid Closing Contribution". This is highly recommended if the home buyer is short on funds to close or currently only has the downpayment and no other funds available. Seller can pay up to 3% of the purchase price towards closing costs.
If the Seller picks up yclosing costs, any monies paid up front other than the home inspection (appraisal and homeowners insurance up front) will be applied to the downpayment commitment.
FHA FAQ's
FHA HUD Links
• www.hud.gov - HUD Home Page
• www.fha.gov - FHA Home Page
• http://www.hud.gov/offices/hsg/sfh/ref/hsgregst.cfm - Subscribe to HUD’s Single Family Mailing List
• http://hud.gov/offices/hsg/sfh/events/events.cfm - HUD Single Family Events & Training Page
• http://hud.gov/offices/hsg/sfh/talk/parc/phiarch.cfm - Phili HOC Recorded Webinar Archives
• http://www.hud.gov/groups/lenders.cfm - HUD Lenders Page **NEW**
• http://www.hud.gov/offices/hsg/sfh/lender/mtgeekit.cfm - Title II Mortgagee Starter Kit of HUD Handbooks
• http://www.disasterhousing.gov/offices/adm/hudclips/handbooks/hsgh/ - Complete List of Handbooks
• http://www.fhaoutreach.gov/FHAHandbook/prod/contents.asp?address=4155-2 - Link to Home Page for new 4155.1 and 4155.2 Searchable Handbooks
• http://www.hud.gov/offices/hsg/sfh/ref/hsgrcont.cfm - HUD/FHA HOC Reference Guide
• http://www.hud.gov/offices/hsg/sfh/faqs/faqsmenu.cfm - HUD/FHA FAQ by Category
• http://www.hud.gov/faqs/faqbuying.cfm - HUD Common Questions Page
• http://www.nls.gov/offices/adm/hudclips/letters/mortgagee/ - HUD Mortgagee Letters
• https://entp.hud.gov/idapp/html/hicostlook.cfm - FHA Mortgage Limits Search
• https://entp.hud.gov/idapp/html/condlook.cfm - FHA Condominium Search
• https://entp.hud.gov/idapp/html/apprlook.cfm - FHA Appraiser Roster Search
• http://www.hud.gov/groups/appraisers.cfm - FHA Roster Appraiser Home Page
• http://www.hud.gov/offices/hsg/sfh/reo/reohome.cfm - HUD REO Home Page
• http://www.hud.gov/offices/hsg/sfh/owning.cfm - HUD Owning a Home Consumer Info Page
• http://portal.hud.gov/portal/page/portal/HUD/states - Links to State-Specific HUD Home Pages
• http://www.hud.gov/library/index.cfm - HUD Online Library-Links to Various Common Topics
• http://portal.hud.gov/portal/page/portal/HUD/webcasts/archives - HUD Webcast Archives-Recorded Webcasts
• http://portal.hud.gov/portal/page/portal/HUD/webcasts/archives/sinfamily - HUD Single Family Housing Webcast Archives
• https://entp.hud.gov/clas/index.cfm - FHA Connection
• http://portal.hud.gov/portal/page/portal/HUD/program_offices/administration/hudclips/forms - HUD Forms Search
• http://www.hud.gov/offices/hsg/sfh/fharesourcectr.cfm - FHA Resource Center Home Page
• http://www.fhaoutreach.gov/FHAFAQ/ - FHA Resource Center Searchable FAQ
• http://www5.hud.gov:63001/po/i/netlocator/ - HUD Employee Locator-Online Search Engine
• http://www.hud.gov/offices/adm/dds/ - HUD Direct Distribution Center- Order Publications!
• http://www.hud.gov/library/bookshelf11/hudgraphics/fheologo.cfm - Equal Housing Graphic/Logo for Printing
• http://www.hud.gov/offices/hsg/sfh/sys/caivrs/caivrs.cfm - HUD CAIVRS Home Page
• https://www.epls.gov/ - Excluded Parties Listing System Home Page (EPLS)
• http://www.hud.gov/offices/fheo/promotingfh/928-1.pdf - Fair Housing Poster-English Version
• http://www.hud.gov/offices/fheo/promotingfh/lep.cfm - Booklets HUD Materials in English and Other Languages
• http://www.hud.gov/offices/hsg/sfh/buying/homebuyingguide.pdf HUD Homebuying Guide for Consumers
• http://www.hud.gov/offices/hsg/sfh/buying/loanfraudfaq.pdf HUD Smart Consumer Fact Sheet
• http://www.hud.gov/offices/hsg/sfh/ins/hoctenyr.pdf - HUD Approved 10 year Warranty Plans
• http://www.hud.gov/assist/webpolicies.cfm - HUD Web Policies
FHA Foreclosures Rising
Rising FHA default rate foreshadows a crush of foreclosures
|
|
Tuesday, February 2, 2010
The share of borrowers who are falling seriously behind on loans backed by the Federal Housing Administration jumped by more than a third in the past year, foreshadowing a crush of foreclosures that could further buffet an agency vital to the housing market's recovery.
About 9.1 percent of FHA borrowers had missed at least three payments as of December, up from 6.5 percent a year ago, the agency's figures show.
Although the FHA's default rate has been climbing for months and eating into the agency's cash, the latest figures show that the FHA's woes are getting worse even as the housing market shows signs of improvement. The problems are rooted in FHA mortgages made in 2007 and 2008. Those loans are now maturing into their worst years because failures most often occur two to three years after a mortgage is made.
If the trend continues and the FHA's cash reserves are exhausted, the federal government would automatically use taxpayer money to cover the losses -- a first for the agency, which has always used the fees it charges borrowers to pay for its losses.
As these loans from 2007 and 2008 go bad and clear off of the FHA's books, agency officials said, losses are expected to taper off, aided by the housing market's anticipated recovery and an influx of more creditworthy borrowers, who have flocked to the FHA's home-buying program in the past year.
Agency officials said they have cracked down on poorly performing lenders and announced higher qualifying fees for borrowers. On Monday, the agency projected that the fees should generate $5.8 billion in fiscal 2011, up from $2 billion this year. That would fatten the FHA's cash cushion, used to cover unexpected losses.




