Cash / Mattress Money is a Deal Killer

- Cash / Mattress Money is a Deal Killer-

AHEAD OF THE CURVE ARTICLE BELOW

Below is a list of my top programs that should be in every agents resource
folder:

-FHA closed on time: [http://www.realestateloans.com/fhadonewell.pdf]
[http://www.realestateloans.com/fhadonewell.pdf]
www.realestateloans.com/fhadonewell.pdf

-100% Rural Development: [http://www.realestateloans.com/usda.pdf]
[http://www.realestateloans.com/usda.pdf] www.realestateloans.com/usda.pdf

-$100 down for HUD owned homes:
[http://www.realestateloans.com/100hudhome.pdf]
[http://www.realestateloans.com/100hudhome.pdf]
www.realestateloans.com/100hudhome.pdf

-Deferred maintenance homes:
[http://www.realestateloans.com/uglyhomes.pdf]
[http://www.realestateloans.com/uglyhomes.pdf]
www.realestateloans.com/uglyhomes.pdf

-100% pre-approval to closing ratio:
[http://www.realestateloans.com/concierge.pdf]
[http://www.realestateloans.com/concierge.pdf]
www.realestateloans.com/concierge.pdf

-VA 100% financing:  [http://www.realestateloans.com/va.pdf]
www.realestateloans.com/va.pdf

-Home Buyer job protection mortgage:
[http://www.realestateloans.com/rainydays.pdf]
www.realestateloans.com/rainydays.pdf

CASH IS KILLING DEALS:

I recently had a borrower call me and state she deposited $6000 into her
bank account from an unsecured loan. Without telling the Realtor or myself
she used this money for the contract deposit. Some form of outside monies
has been interjected into four of the last ten deals I've done and the
borrowers did it after reading
[http://gilkerk.realestateloans.com/condominiums/2009/05/07/i-need-to-make-a-home-loan-application-help.html]
my home purchase introduction link which clearly states that cash and large
deposits should be avoided.

Why isn't cash allowed into a transaction? It's the borrowers money right?
Several obvious reasons: Patriot Act/Banking Laws, Drug Money, Cash
Laundering, Straw Buyer considerations, Under the Table Seller Concessions,
Realtor or Loan Office contribution, Unsecured/unreported loan, Gift from
an unacceptable source, etc..

Loan officers and Realtors should never allow or encourage customers to
deposit or use cash for ANY part of the transaction nor turn a blind eye if
they know a client is borrowing money from credit cards or personal loans.
This type of mistake will certainly cause problems and create needless
tension. Now more than ever, loan files are being looked at with a fine
tooth comb. More and more careful verifications are being done a day before
closing- be prepared and don't let your deal die for dumb reasons.

Remember, FHA case numbers follow these loans. If one underwriter declines
a loan, the disposition will follow that loan. Realtors and Loan Officers
must work closely to prevent problems from day one.

Please call me at (847) 873-7295 to discuss nuances. Here to help you get
homes financed.

Is your loan officer less responsive than you'd like? Cut yourself free
from bad service, poor communication and start enjoying incredible support
today.

Could your team use an updated presentation to get agents up-to-speed on
loan program changes? Lending is a huge part of transactional business,
consider  scheduling my lunch and learn for your team.

Gil Kerbashian

Mortgage Lending Since 1997

Gil's Loan Answer Hotline: (847) 873-7295

FANNIE MAE'S NEW DEBT TO INCOME RATIO'S

Ahead of the Curve
For Active Real Estate Marketing Professionals...
Fannie Mae has implemented the new debt to income ratio for borrowers in conventional loans: Starting December 1st or thereabouts for most lenders, conventional loan total debt to income ratio's have been brought down to 45%. Up to this point the average TDTI has averaged in the low 50's.
NOW: 45% is the guideline for borrowers that put down 20% or more. For conventional loans with less than 20% down the ratio is restricted to 41%. Please see my above article on debt to income ratios for clarification of what a DTI is.
Why is this change important to real estate professionals? You have pending offers, pre-approvals and deals in the pipeline that currently have ratios above 45%. These deal may have problems closing. Take a moment to inquire about these offers or pre-approvals and make sure the home buyers will be able to close.
Please call me at (847) 873-7295 to discuss nuances. Here to help you get homes financed. 

Fannie Mae New Debt to Income Ratio Requirement

Ahead of the Curve
For Active Real Estate Marketing Professionals...
Fannie Mae has implemented the new debt to income ratio for borrowers in conventional loans: Starting December 1st or thereabouts for most lenders, conventional loan total debt to income ratio's have been brought down to 45%. Up to this point the average TDTI has averaged in the low 50's.
NOW: 45% is the guideline for borrowers that put down 20% or more. For conventional loans with less than 20% down the ratio is restricted to 41%. Please see my above article on debt to income ratios for clarification of what a DTI is.
Why is this change important to real estate professionals? You have pending offers, pre-approvals and deals in the pipeline that currently have ratios above 45%. These deal may have problems closing. Take a moment to inquire about these offers or pre-approvals and make sure the home buyers will be able to close.
Please call me at (847) 873-7295 to discuss nuances. Here to help you get homes financed. 

Mortgage Rates Now a-la-carte

Mortgage rates have gotten sliced and diced in very narrow catagories and credit score ranges. Last year we were able to pool 700 ficos with 650.. this doesn't hold true any longer. I've included the MAIN FANNIE MAE AND FREDDIE MAC matrix below for what we as mortgage lenders have to look at before we price a loan. There is also matrices for cash-out refinances, condo's, investment properties and 2nd homes.

Don't expect any of the mortgage rates you see in the paper or online to hold true. The mortgage rates you see online are "base" rates and are only offered to a very small percentage of the population with the highest credits scores and largest down payments.

With declining property values, high loan defaults and lower credit scores so common now you will be better served working with a mortgage person you can first trust and one that has access to many lenders. Access to many lenders will help you find the right rate and approval for your particular needs.

As you can see on the below matrix 720 credit scores with lots of equity home owners are getting the best rates. This matrix applies to conventional loans only not FHA or VA loans. FHA and VA loans offer there own risk based adjustments. Guideline changes have been almost non stop since the end of 2007 due to the disrupted nature of mortgage lending.

Below adjustments are strictly for addtional points added for risk based add-ons. 1 point equals 1% of the loan amount. EX: 1 point for a $100,000 loan is $1,000, 2 points for a $100,000 loan is $2,000, and so on.

A borrower that doesn't want to pay risk based 'points' can typically increase their rate to absorb points. It usually costs a .25% increase in rate to eliminate 1 point.

Example: .25% increase in rate may eliminate a 1 point charge, .50% in rate may eliminate a 2 point charge. A 5.0% rate may have a 2 point charge or the client may pay 5.5% rate with 0 points.

The below risk based point adds are national guidelines that apply to all conventional mortgage lenders. Some lenders can add on their own additional "regional" risk premiums.

Clients can choose to incur the below addtional points or a higher rate to offset any additional points that must be charged due to additional risk.  

Fanne Freddie Conventional Conforming Adjusters       Increase rates or charge borrower below points or a combination of point/rate
LTV%     <=60% 60.01-<=70% 70.01-75% 75.01-80% 80.01-85% 85.01-90% 90.01-95% 95.01-97%
LTV / FICO Adjusters: All Products w/Terms > 15 Yrs            
>=740   FIXED/ARM (0.250) 0.000 0.000 0.000 0.000 0.000 0.000 n/a
720 - 739   FIXED/ARM (0.250) 0.000 0.000 0.250 0.000 0.000 0.000 n/a
700 - 719   FIXED/ARM (0.250) 0.500 0.500 0.750 n/a n/a n/a n/a
680 - 699   FIXED/ARM 0.000 0.500 1.000 1.500 n/a n/a n/a n/a
660 - 679   FIXED/ARM 0.000 1.000 2.000 2.500 n/a n/a n/a n/a
640 - 659   FIXED/ARM 0.500 1.250 2.500 3.000 n/a n/a n/a n/a
620 - 639   FIXED/ARM 0.500 1.500 3.000 3.000 n/a n/a n/a n/a
<620   FIXED/ARM n/a n/a n/a n/a n/a n/a n/a n/a

ADDITIONAL CONVENTIONAL CONFORMING ADJUSTERS

CHARGE A HIGHER RATE OR BORROWER MUST PAY ADDITIONAL BELOW POINTS

     
   
LTV > 90% <= 95% 0.250
15 -year FRM w/ 120-month term 0.250
Investment Property LTV <= 75% 1.750
Investment Property LTV >75% <= 80% 3.000
Investment Property LTV >80% <= 90% n/a
2 Unit Property 1.000
2 Unit Second Home Cash-Out refi <= 75% 0.500
3 & 4 Unit Property 1.000
Secondary Financing  
   75/20/5 LTV>65%/CLTV>90<=95% & FICO>=720 0.250
   75/20/5 LTV>65%/CLTV>90<=95% & FICO<720 0.500
   80/10/10 0.250
   All Other LTV>75% & FICO>=720 0.250
   All Other LTV>75% & FICO<720 0.500
Non-escrowed (except CA, IA, IL, MN, NJ, NY, OR) 0.250
Temporary buydowns >80% LTV w/no MI 1.000
Condo > 75% LTV         ALL PRODUCTS W/ TERMS > 15 YRS 0.750

Low Loan Size Adjuster  
$0 - $49,999 0.500
$50,000 - $99,999 0.250